Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2000
Are you fed up with the exhorbitant prices being demanded by suppliers for turning blanks and squares? Green timber can be obtained for next to nothing. The author takes us through the mechanics of the living tree and explains how to obtain, use and store unseasoned timber. The comprehensive descriptions and illustration of turning projects enable even comparative novices like me to produce quality items. This book fills a gap in the woodturning library.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2007
As a small woodland owner and aspiring wood turner I found this book inspiring. A no nonsense, clear, step by step manual for planning and making a selection of objects from green wood. The information given regarding tree growth is helpfull in enabling the reader to select the best wood for turning and the photographs and associated text are very clear and informative during the entire process from design, planning, material selection, making the piece, sanding, drying and finishing. Six projects are shown in detail from bowls to goblets with some interesting tips and tricks. As a novice wood worker this book gives me hope that I too can make use of this often free resource. Time to go shaving.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
I really enjoyed this book.
Combining photographs and line drawings in an easy to understand manner enables the reader to get to grips with what the author is explaining very quickly.
As the title suggests the nature of green timber is also explained in a very accesible manner.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
this book is a must for any one wanting to take wood turning as a hobby. the descriptions and the staging of the instructions is very good if some what not geared for the novice. if you have some help in the terms that are used you will create a fantastic work by following this book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
I bought this as a last minute gift for my hubby who's taken up wood turning and who particularly likes wet wood turning - not sure of the terminology. I came across this book by accident while just mooching on amazon and am really pleased I found one he enjoyed and which was informative for him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
This is an excellent book, with great insight into the nature & character of trees and the wood derived for turning. Definately recommended to all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Great book covering all aspects of using greenwood. Especially liked the information regarding seasoning and storing greenwood. An excellent read and a must for all greenwood bodgers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
Very interesting book in all sorts of ways, I learnt so much from it, and turning green wood is so satisfying.
The book arrived dead on time, and was well packaged. Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Useful for those who are new to turning green wood, and it is well written and has good illustrations. The delivery was again first class.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
Great book, a really good start for beginners. Michael goes through all the procedures in plain language. Best buy for a teacher.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)