Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
114
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Sheet music|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2013
As an adult coming back to the piano after many years I needed to brush up on scales, and this book gives just enough to begin with. I'd forgotten how hard they are, but fluency with scales makes so much difference to confidence with the piano.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
It is a slim paperback book consisting of seven pages covering the major scales of C, G, D and F. I'm practising these at the moment. The book also includes minor scales, broken chords and a contrary motion scale.

The delivery was quick and I'm extremely satisfied with this purchase.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
For £5 on Amazon you can buy the complete list of Scales, Chords, Arpeggios and Cadences. 88 pages vs 7 (one being blank), £1.44 extra. Make the right choice.
22 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
As a newcomer to the piano from (fairly advanced) trumpet-playing, I'm well aware of the importance of scales. This book appears to give guidance on the placing of fingers which is v useful. Like the other reviewer, I was a little disappointed to find such a slim volume. Perhaps I was expecting "Arban" or "Claude Gordon" exercise book to test myself against.
All in all though, a good basic and useful text.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
This book is great for practising scales and chords. It helps to exercise your fingers and keep them flexible and supple! Easy to follow and a must for anyone learning the piano. My daughter can follow it very easily.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
It saves time having to write out the scales and arpeggios for pupils, together with the fingering, and having to look up which scales and arpeggios are suitable for which grades! And your pupils have no excuse for getting the fingering wrong!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Bought for my youngest son to help prepare for his Grade 1 exam. Does exactly what it says on the tin:- scales and broken chords for Grade 1. Bought other books from same range to accompany this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
There is another review which urges you to 'make the right choice' and go for the £5 book which contains all scales, arpeggios and cadences. This is a cheap option and not to be sniffed at; however, grade 1 is very much beginner level and as such you are (I think) better advised to stick to a clear, easy to understand, slim publication which shows exactly what is necessary for your first graded exam. There is fingering, and also a short explanation of what the examining board will be looking for in your scale playing. I do think the ABRSM could include a couple more grades in one book to justify the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
This book belongs to a series of Grade 1 publications and are beautifully produced and good to handle. There is a well-organised selection of pieces required for the exams. Options are available. However, no substitute for the work required to become a concert pianist!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
I am a pianist and bought this book for my little sister who was struggling to remember the scales as she has recently took up the piano. I have always used the ABRSM scale books as they are great. Would definetly recommend these books for each grade.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)