Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Sheet music|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 February 2002
This book is very useful to anyone learning to play not only the piano but also for someone who wishes to increase their jazz playimg skills. It contains many basic scales with good and clear fingering markings. Ownership of this book not only would help to pass the ASB Jazz exams but also help with Piano playing, in particular Jazz. I reccomend to all pianists looking to improve Jazz playing techniques and any other curious player wishing to further their repotoire of styles and pieces.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2002
This book is a must for any up and coming jazz pianists. The book is well laid out, with good and well researched fingerings. If the fingerings are obeyed then the candidate will not only be sure of a good pass at grades 1-5, but also be able to play jazz pieces technicaly well and with much more ease. I personaly recommend this book for anybody taking Asociated Board exams or anyone intersted in increasing their jazz playing abilities and skills.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
it's nothing to write home about, it's just 20 pages with some scales. The descriptions says ''it will develop the technical skills you need to play jazz. It introduces patterns characteristic of the idiom, like the blues scales, the b3 pentatonic and various modes. It also explores these patterns on the roots and key centres commonly found in jazz.''

But in fact, it's just a short compendium of scales. The 'book' says nothing about on what harmonic context you can use the b3 pentatonic or the modes. I understand that this is not an jazz harmony book, but the description gives an idea that the 'book' is more than it really is, which it isn't. I also don't understand why for some pentatonic scales, like the Bb minor pentatonic, fingerings are given only for 1 octave, and I can't figure out how to extend the pattern in more than 1 octave, unless I play with thumbs on black keys, but am not sure if I am doing the right thing.
At grade 5, is it not expected to know all the scales in all the keys, as for minor and major?

I also define it 'book' (in quotes) as I don't know how else to define it. Not a bad buy for the used copy I bought at £ 1.25 , and to me a quid more or less isn't that important, but for £ 8 including shipping, I'd probably pay more and try to find a book for jazz piano improvisation where all scales are illustrated and more. So, not a bad product, just rather mediocre.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Loathing scales as I do , this little book makes them a little more palatable in that they are subtlely varied and gradually more and more complex as the book progresses.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
This jazz scale book is exactly what I needed and at a fabulous price too. A great self-help product for anyone with a basic knowledge of musical notation.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
arrived on time in a sensible sized package . The scales are from grade 1 up to 5 so you will not have to buy another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Bought for my daughter who is learning the piano the book was everything it should have been . it was very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Difficult to review. If you need it - this is what you have got to do!! And it is on nice paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Its what it says it is. Good delivery however so 5 stars for that!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
Just what my son needed to help him to progress
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.75
£6.95

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)