Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2011
I have just received The Phillimore Atlas & Index of Parish Registers.
First, the good bits; The usual excellent service from Amazon. The book arrived when I was told it would. Spot on. A near 40% saving on the full price. A good-looking item!
Now the not-so-good bits; I have been researching my family history for a little while, & have got to the stage where I now need to search pre-1837 i.e. Parish, records. Having read all the (rave) reviews about how helpful this Atlas/Index was in that direction, I decided to treat myself to a copy. Now I'm left wondering why.I won't go over the information contained in this book. See previous reviews for that. Suffice to say I found that the internet had already provided me with all the information this book provides, certainly for my own Counties of interest. Before anyone purchases a copy themselves, I suggest they contact The County record office for their area of interst. If the records they are looking for are not there, i'm sure the staff at the office will point them in the right direction. Otherwise, get a copy from the library. Which is exactly what I should have done first! This book would have been of use pre-internet days, but now? Sorry, not a well spent £30+
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Essential material for family history research. Parish boundaries, where registers are stored and plenty more. A must for all family historians
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
This book is invaluable for genealogy studies as it helps the search for old parish boundaries in the atlas section and the index details what records are available in a search for parish details of ancestors.
The purchase of this book through Amazon was a considerable saving in cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2011
Book arrived ahead of given date. Phillimore's Atlas & Index of Parish Registers is the bible for all genealogy reseachers, it is worth the money as will save time in narrowing down parishes to search
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
Delivery of this book was prompt and arrived on time.

The book itself had been recommended as especially useful in the research of family history, which has proved to be the case.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
This is a really valuable and useful resource if you are researching your family tree, it can be quite difficult to track which parish/ county was in existence in the 19th century and how they related to each other and the beautiful maps give a clear indication of those changing boundaries. For most counties (Scotland and Wales also included) there is a page for each map of the pre-1832 parishes and a topographical map from about 1834. It is the sort of book you will want to keep on the bookshelf as a resource to dip into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
This is not going to suit everyone. Much of the images are from old maps and these are not always easy to read. However, this is the one essential book for anyone looking for ancestors, where the location of a birth or death needs to be located as a real place. A lot of the place names in the various registers are ambiguous and in present day terms do not match what we see now. This book helps resolve that. It takes some patience and working through alternatives, but is the best tool for doing this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
This is a most helpful book for ancestry researchers. Essentially a reference book, it has opened several new doors of exploration already!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
THIS BOOK IS ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.
HELPED ME A GREAT DEAL.
I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANY ONE DOING FAMILY HISTORY.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I found this an excellent book to have when researching my family tree, it is easy to follow and understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)