Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 April 2015
I really enjoyed Polly Samson earlier work so I'm sure I will like this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Just finished this book today.
Thoroughly enjoyed it and masterfully written.
Very clever observation of life and depth of characters.
Takes you through a whole gambit of emotions.
Bought it for a holiday read and finished it in a day !
Thankyou Polly -:) xxxxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2016
Excellent portrayal of characters and wonderful writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2011
Well written short stories, with interesting characters and locations. I love the little links between each one, and look forward to more from the same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
Really enjoyable. Liked how the stories linked together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2014
I have enjoyed Polly Samson's yet another of Polly Samson's books. This one is just as riveting as her last. Very cleverly orchestrated. Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2015
Not really my read, bit confusing .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2011
I found this collection too slight to be of consequence. The characters were very forgettable and samey and it was hard to sympathise with their problems. The theme of the darkness behind happniess has been done better and in more depth by others such as McEwan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2013
This is a series of short stories set in a seaside town, which are all very cleverly interwoven into each other. In fact there are so many subtle links between the stories, once I had finished the book, I then re-read it immediately to remind myself of all the links - and also picked up on some I had missed the first time around. I have never re-read a book immediately after finishing! I'm a big fan! Have also read Lying in Bed and Out of the Picture. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2015
Interlocking short stories about life in an affluent seaside town, often taking women - sometimes women financially dependent on men, sometimes on unfaithful or untrustworthy men - as the central characters. One story does focus on a male piano tuner and failed concert pianist.

This story, the second in the collection, is where my problems started. Why not teach the piano rather than tune pianos, in these circumstances? Why ask so many technical questions (about the piano soundboard we are told) before turning up to see a new, clearly amateur, client? Why need to play the clients' pianos for artistic satisfaction? And can a skilled pianist, later in the book, really make the hopeless piano of this second story, sound great.

On the upside the book is very stylishly written, each story holds and reveals its surprises very effectively - and I was left curious to know more about these characters than I had been told...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here