Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2003
Prozac Nation was deliciously depressing and I was happy to leave it at that, but when a friend pestered me to read More, Now & again, telling me that the story only really concludes there, I gave it a go.
The first thing that struck me was how foolish I had been to think she would stroll off into the sunset after Prozac Nation, with all her problems solved. She quickly descends into more chaos & more addiction and frighteningly doesn't see any of this as a problem.
Critics of Wurtzel say this & 'Prozac' are nothing more than collections of self indulgent whining but I beg to differ. Yes, she is extremely self obsessed and self important - yet she cheerfully admits it. It's true that nothing really happens in this book, she moves from addiction to addiction and constantly avoids friends, work and going into rehab. But explosive special effects and twisting plots can be kept for Arnold Schwazzanigger. It's about the quality of her writing and it manages to be both sumptuous and as openly raw as the wounds she carves on her legs.
Half way through the book you feel like banging your head against a brick wall. She just never seems to learn, she is such a coward, screwing herself up, hating it, yet doing nothing to change it. But the fact that she can put it down for everyone to see proves she's acknowledged her own stupidity.
As you've guessed, the book concludes with her clean and looking forward to life for the first time without the grip of addiction influencing her. I can't honestly say that I believe she'll stay straight forever. She was tempted off the wagon hundreds of times throughout her other two books and when you think she's hit rock bottom, she keeps on drilling away through the seabed.
Or will she, like many recovered addicts, get so possessed by self recovery that it replaces the last addiction and is just as destructive.
I wouldn't be suprised if there was another follow up book, sheepishly admitting that it didn't stop there, there had been more madness, snorting, injecting, smoking and general chickening out of life. And if there is, then she can keep it. There's only so far the reader can believe in a character and empathise. But for now, I still care and for those who loved 'Prozac', you'll want to know what she did next
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2002
I knew nothing about Elizabeth Wurtzel, the terminally confessional Gen-X postergirl for suicide chic, until I read an excerpt from this book in The Guardian. And I was so impressed, I bought the book.
This account of an escalating addiction to Ritalin, then coke, then porn, and ultimately and fundamentally love, is totally gripping, because it's so well written. A celebrated New York writer with a to-die-for apartment and hip friends, whose favourite pastime is shopping, and who admits that however early she goes to bed, it is hard for her to be up and out of the door before about 4-ish, Wurtzel is in the difficult position of trying to make us sympathise with her descent into coke hell. As she says, she had it all, and she 'threw it all away'. The odd thing is, it is such a no-holds-barred account, her honesty becomes compelling. The passages where she describes the speed-addled hours she spent tweezing hairs out of her legs until, at points, she got down to the bone (and the green infected pustules that ensue) forced me to put the book down for a couple of minutes to recover. But not for long though, because I was genuinely interested to see how she resolved this wretched situation. She is totally open about everything -- which at points can be infuriating, for example when she repeatedly describes how attractive she still looks despite being a cokehead -- but this warts-and-all account comes from the heart, and at points moved me to tears. And part of her problem is she is a born attention-seeker, so the writing does backflips to impress you -- she's not thick, and her prose is funny, punchy, has a huge range of reference (including her rather cool record collection), and practically screams 'like me, like me!' at every turn. It is fascinating to see how her Harvard education wrestles with the practical cliches of institutions like Narcotics Anonymous. Eventually she comes to realise that there is meaning in their hokey jargon, checks her cynicism at the door, and gets herself straight. You can't help but be a bit moved by this. I identified a bit too much, perhaps; but if you don't understand how you can be both too cynical and too naive at the same time, you really ought to read this.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2003
What did readers expect when buying this book, for it to end as happily ever after. That isn't it at all. Life doesn't always have a happy ending. Elizabeth Wurtzel no longer is seen as a teen in this book, but a grown woman with adult problems. Her overwhelming addictions of snorting pills is horrible but you learn more about her personality. Her failed relationships, addictions and depression come through terribly clear....but she does learn..only the hard way. (Like the rest of us.) What I loved most about the book is her ranting about anything from Timithy McVeigh to her cat. Some have found the rants to be terrible but it is an inside glimpse to her thoughts. If you want fiction and a fairytale, go buy Harry Potter. As for me, I am just happy with hearing the truth and learning from it. It doesn't mean I have to understand it from my experiences.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2003
This is a damn fine book and I had no interest in reading it. I'll admit, 'Prozac Nation' did nothing for me. Self-indulgent and smug, all the way through I thought, 'Who cares? So you're depressed! Happens to a lot of us, babes. At least you're depressed in lovely Manhattan loft apartments surrounded by trendy, arty friends.' 'More Now Again' has completely changed my perception of Miss Wurtzel - anyone who has ever suffered from an addiction needs to read this book. I kept ringing up my ex-boyfriend (also an addict) and reading him passages because they said so much to me. Sound twee? Well, maybe. Even so, Miss Wurtzel's decent into Ritalin and Cocaine hell makes for fascinating reading. This book in unputdownable. Like the best biographies Miss Wurtzel is not afraid to portray herself in a very true, unpleasent light - selfish, self-absorbed, vain - a lot of on-line reviews have chided her for this but they're missing the point. That's what it's like to be an addict, boys and girls. The only thing you can think about is you and your substance of choice, everything else pales into significance. Addicts are self-absorbed and selfish people and of course, very ill. Miss Wurtzel comes through (but only just barely) at the end of this book and I was applauding her. I can't wait for the next one. Buy this book now.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
I really enjoyed this book. I hadn't read Prozac Nation but knew about the subject matter and was perhaps swayed by the 'self indulgent whining' reviews. But I thought I would give this book a run out and I'm glad I did. I'm not sure if her rants are supposed to be funny but she does indeed make them hilarious.

One thing though that got me thinking, was when I read the acknowledgements after reading the book, she admits that when she first went into rehab and met the great characters there, her editor 'knew this would make a great book', and she should 'keep notes'. Does this mean throughout her rehab she was working, when she insists all the way through she just slept and wasn't capable of working?

Also in the acknowledgements she thanks her friends, strangely enough not the same names as the friends she has referred to throughout the book. If this is meant to be a truthfull, soul searching tale then why does she use false names?

Nevertheless, this was a great read. Wurtzel has had an amazing life and I am amazed she can remember any of it. She is also lucky that all her health problems, addictions and angsts are also her cash cow. Most of us aren't that lucky.....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2006
Elizabeth Wurtzel tells it like it is with a witty narrative style. A gripping and honest account of the consequences and personal emotions throughout drug addiction with no glosses. All young people should read this novel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2002
I love this book. I have read it 3 times already, and will read it again. I wondered what happened to Elizabeth Wurtzel after Prozac Nation, and how she continued her inner struggle with herself.
Well, this is it! Writing in the same style as Prozac Nation, but matured in her descriptions and anaylsis of her own personality, More, Now, Again explores the world of addiction from one person's point of view, and her continued struggle for self exceptence.
The book makes you feel as if you are Elizabeth's closest friend as she tells you personal details of her life, but you also feel removed from her too, as though you are too far away to help like a real friend would.
This book is an excellent piece of prose and I reccomend it to anyone. Even my best friend, who hates reading, has become inseparable from it!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
In the face of Naomi Wolf, our most promising champion of feminism, recanting all that made Wolf great, Wurtzel is the veritable phoenix rising from the ashes of that sinister myth: postfeminism. She lays herself bare for all to see, giving young women relief in the form of being able to identify, for Wurtzel recognises the only way to improve the bleak zeitgeist for the next generation is to help them realise that they are not the only ones, and IT IS NOT OUR FAULT.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2002
Everyone should read this book. It doesn't really matter what kind of addiction you have, whether you are an alcoholic, smoke pot or you're just dependent of a girlfriend/boyfriend to feel good about yourself. Elizabeth Wurtzel writes encredibly well, and I don't doubt for a second that this is the truth about her and her addiction. She makes us believe that her story is real, and that makes it so good - and terribly sad. I actually cried several times when I read the book! I have read all the books Elizabeth Wurtzel has written. It is hard to say which one is my favourite, because they're all so different. I guess 'More, Now, Again' is my favourite right now.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2003
Ms. Wertzel established herself as an extremely versatile and humorous writer with the completion and subsequent release of her first book; and her ability to write about incredibly painful personal strife continues with her newest release. The book is a page-turner, even if it does answer all of the questions left at the end of Prozac Nation with an epilogue that brings testament to the fact that her testament to Prozac was yet another attempt to stop her constant head stream of self abuse. Although (as a reader and a psychiatric social worker), I want to believe that these two stints in recovery have saved Elizabeth (God save the queen!), I am afraid her borderline tendencies will resurface and provide the voyeuristic public with yet another chance to identify with a woman who is truly a spokesperson for generations. She herself left the door open for a sequel in her ending. In the end, the book is worth the read, and one cannot hope but wish for the best for this talented young artist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)