Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
161
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 August 2017
Margaret Atwood is a master of words - I love the way she writes, her use of words( even the ones I have to look up!) so reading a book of this length is no problem. Her plots and the way she jumps back and forth can be a little confusing but makes you carry on until the end because you must see what happens. Her characterisation is amazing and it is so easy to form a picture in your mind of these people. And because I am old myself I love the way she totally understands the world of elderly women. Very well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Once into the book not able to put it down. Lots of research and historical knowledge applied which made for a food read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Atwood's best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Her best,ever👌❤
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
First thought was, I think this might have been a really good 350 page novel. Unfortunately it’s almost twice the size and as cluttered with random detail as an attic. In this sense it’s a typical Booker Prize winner (for me the only time the Booker judges have got even close to being on the money in the past decade is Hilary Mantel).
Ostensibly The Blind Assassins tells the story of two sisters and their relationships with two men at either ends of the political spectrum – Iris marries the industrialist and fascist sympathiser Richard Griffen, her sister Laura is infatuated with a communist agitator, Alex Thomas. This all takes place in the years before WW2. The two girls grow up in an idyllic house called Avilion (Avalon was the island King Arthur was taken after being wounded and Atwood presents way of life at Avilion as something equally wounded and on the verge of expiring). The girls’ childhood was probably my favourite part of this novel which has many tiers and many stories within stories (too many). For me Atwood’s at her best when she isn’t trying to be too clever, when she drops her penchant for melodrama and rather self-defeating literary juggling acts.
There’s also a novel within this novel. Alex Thomas to survive writes pulp fiction for magazines and invents Planet Zycron. For the most part Planet Zycron is pure silliness. Kind of fun as a narrative Alex makes up while in bed with his lover but wholly implausible as a novel that has received critical acclaim and is still in print fifty years later.
Also, I’m afraid I’m not really a great fan of Atwood’s prose. Sometimes it reminds me of the literary equivalent of elderly people wearing teenage clothes. Like this this observation which starts off great but ends up like chewing gum. “Women have curious ways of hurting someone else. They hurt themselves instead; or else they do it so the guy doesn't even know he's been hurt until much later. Then he finds out. Then his dick falls off.” She’s also got an annoying habit of using two consecutive metaphors for the same observation. Or else using a metaphor that is so wacky that it creates more confusion than clarity - as when bread is described as ''white and soft and flavorless as an angel's buttock.”
The central male character, Richard Griffin, is a feminist’s wet dream. He’s so conclusively vile that it becomes like a fancy dress costume. Impossible to take serious. Ditto, his sister Winnifred. A pair of 19th century monsters in a 20th century novel. Pantomime versions of the fabulously wicked Gilbert Osmond and Madame Merle in Portrait of a Lady. Patriarchal male bullying has been done with so much more artistry and subtlety (and plausibility) – Casaubon with Dorothea in Middlemarch for example or the King Lear father in Jane Smiley’s A Thousand Acres which I’m presently reading. There’s a strong element of feminist crowd pleasing in this utterly one dimensional portrait of patriarchal tyranny. Ironically it also serves to make you like Iris, his wife, less.
The novel revolves on a central twist, you could almost say it’s the novel’s raison d’etre, and this is the clever and engaging part of this novel - the two sisters become the same woman with two contrasting fates: Iris conforms and survives at a ghastly price, Laura refuses to compromise and dies. The problem is all the clutter heaped around this central and fascinating theme.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
A long and overly wrought novel which if stripped of the bulking and convolutions reduces to a weak story.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
A former Booker prize winner, and they're not usually bad books. This is a family/romantic mystery in a genre common among modern female writers, but none the worse for that. Very well written, and repays sticking with the slightly confusing opening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Prompt Well packaged Goods as described Thank You
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
Margaret Atwood is a great novelist and I have read other books by her. The writing in this book is what you would expect, the plot is carefully put together and the whole thing well executed. In spite of all this I almost gave up half way, which is unusual for me. In fact I did finish it and am glad I did. However my problem with the novel was that I just couldn't connect with the characters emotionally. In terms of plot you know more or less what is going to happen (though there is a denouement at the end) so it needs an extra something to sustain interest, something more than a simple desire to find out what happens next or what on earth is going on. For me it just didn't have enough of that extra something. This is a good novel by a great writer, but with all due respect to Margaret Atwood it's not a great novel. If you are a fan of hers you should read it (in the unlikely event that you haven't already). To anyone else I would say it's better than 95% of the other rubbish out there but it's not a classic. Hence a realistic 3 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£9.98

Need customer service? Click here