Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10

on 22 October 2014
Only discovered Carver recently but a real revelation. Poetry that makes sense on first reading. Powerful stuff!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2017
Good, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2017
Really hooked on Carvers writings. Get the anthology as you won't stop reading once you pstart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 May 2017
Comprehensive book includes all his works. Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
beautiful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2002
these poems are accessable to anyone.there are no tricks here.yes,he has his style but he wants to take us with him.not all of them work but thats ok too - he`s not frightened to show himself,his failures and delights at living.these poems cover the subjects of life and living,the dying too.they tell of the beauty and sometimes horror of life , sometimes the downright boredom and how distructive this can be.there should be a half dozen copies on each school library shelf - to show our children what can and does happen in life and how this can affect us from an early age.raymond carver allows us to look at ourselves without bitterness,shows us we are human and we can learn and grow.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2010
This is one of my favourite collections of poetry. Carver's writing is one of extreme brevity and simplicity, but goes deeper than most "complex" verse that I've read. Carver is one of the few writers who make me realise that, although I have a terrible, badly-paid job, my experience on earth is no less dramatic, beautiful, or interesting. The poems regarding his on-coming death, his alcoholism, and his sobriety, situated near the end of the book, are some of the best in the language, in my opinion. Carver does not romanticise his hard life or those of his characters, but instead humanises them and himself. Carver is one of the greatest poets of all time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 1999
This is a truly lovely book. In fact it is so good that it only occurs to you just how special it is after a few readings, because the poetry is so easy and flows so beautifully that you take it for granted at first. His style is conversational, like a buddy, but his depth of feeling and human warmth shine through each one. Highlights are too many to mention, but extra special are "My Boat", the tragic "Lemonade" and the conversions into poetry of Chekhov's prose. Amazing.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2009
Words of wisdom for all of us. Raymond Carver shows us how to see our shattered selves. Focussing often on banal moments of tragedy, he shows us that there's something in them still, some sort of beauty. You don't have to agree with each character's apparent absolute identification with this life to appreciate these brief descriptions of how we do identify, sometimes amazed at what is happening to us. What he seems to be saying is "See, it is like this! Step back and see!" These poems are compassionate reality checks, that helps us to see the mess we're often in. What are we going to do about it? What can we do? At least look and see, then you may be able to act a little more wisely, and feel a little more love - for all of us.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2010
Achingly beautiful in places. It is wonderful to have all his poems together and great for dipping in and out of.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here