Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2015
A good read and very informative. Tends to drill home the corruption and fatuous tactics a bit much. If you know nothing of the Greek civil war, give it a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I knew something about the Greek experience of the war, Patrick Leigh-Fermor and others have written about that, and I also knew a little about the Greek civil war that followed but this book taught me so much more and showed it through the experience of one village and in particular one family. The tragic denouement, which is signposted from chapter one and so not a surprise, is almost unreadable in its poignancy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
A very insightful read into the customs and culture of Greece in the WW2 period and the civil war that followed it. The place of women in society, their treatment. This was a story that had me laughing, crying and at times made me feel very frustrated. But that was how Greek society was and the stranglehold that the Communist forces held over the northern villages. This is a book I would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
Read this book in Greek 5 years ago when on holiday in Kefalonia, it was recommended by a holiday rep, A true story of a Family living in the mountains in a village called Lia Greece, I couldn't put the book down,It went from a happy story, to a very sad one,how people can be so ruthless & cruel to one another in times of war. now I'm reading it in English,I will read and reread this story, can't recommend it enough, will buy the sequel, when the Family are in America " A place for us".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
I wanted to gain a better understanding of and learn about the Greek Civil War and this book was a very wise choice. Although very biased against the Communists, and rightly so in the context of the story, the author made it all seem very real.

I would absolutely recommend it as a well written and intelligent account of a family caught in the middle of maelstrom not of their making.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I love this book this is my 2nd purchase as someone borrowed my other one and never returned. Wonderful story about rather a wonderful woman who died in such horrible circumstances and quest her son made to write this book very moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I first read this book many years ago and lost it but thought about it often as it is an incredibly thought-provoking and sad book. I decided to purchase it again as I have the sequel and want to read them both again. This book is very well written and grips the reader. I would recommend it to almost anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
I don’t like to describe this book as enjoyable as it chronicles a family’s fight to survive and the shocking events which ripped the family apart. The book is written by an investigative journalist Nick Gage, who grows up in the USA, but was born in a village called Lia. During the Greek Civil war he escaped with most of his family to join his father who had emigrated to the USA many years before. His mother had chosen not to go as she considered it her duty to care for her aging mother and father and stayed behind in the village with her 4 daughters and son. The book starts at the end and works backwards, so you know the brutal outcome, but you read this book with a sense of dread and a feeling you really don’t want to know the ending. It is a series of struggles first with the German occupation and then much worse, the civil war, which showed humanity at its worse, more people were killed in the civil war then actually killed by the Germans. Most of the villagers were uneducated peasants who only wanted to feed themselves and their family and look after their land and stock. Their families were starving, threatened and dragged into this war, and neighbour set about neighbour, people lied to save their own families, and suspicions were rife. It is a thought provoking book which shows lessons are never learnt and how innocent people and children are always the victims. You feel for Nick who had to live without his mother for most of his life and then find out the brutal way in which she died and virtually relive it. The love Eleni had for her children shone through how she sacrificed her life for them to stop them being taken by the communists behind the iron curtain. This is certainly a book that stays with you long after you have finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
Could not put this book down once I had started. Expect a rollercoaster of emotions as you read the author's retelling of the true tragic events that engulfed his family in Greece. A testament to a mother's love and her ultimate sacrifice to ensure her children's safety. Although heartbreaking, it is also an inspirational piece. Through it all (and I cried so many times) you cannot help feeling a surge of pride and admiration for those experiencing the events and also for those that have inherited the memories of the final conclusion. A definite winner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
This is quite simply one of the best books I have ever read. It is well written and detailed. It is in places shocking but also so warmly written that you really care about the characters. The most shocking thing is that all this really happened and not so long ago. I salute you Mr Gage and your amazing brave mother Eleni xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)