Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
26
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2011
I bought a single copy of this student textbook to evaluate and then ordered a full set to use in my classes (year 9 and 10). It's very self teach which might not suit every situation, but it is very interesting and easy to read and manages to cover all of a pretty broad syllabus. It's based on the idea of work experience at a theme park and each chapter shows you how to use IT (word processing, spreadsheets, databases, etc) to do "real" jobs. My only gripe is that the test assignments at the end of each chapter are sometimes a bit too easy. The book's approach is very clever though and actually attempts to be functional (other functional skills books I've seen are just a rehash of old key skills stuff). The illustrations are lovely too and really help bring the book to life.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Very pleased indeed with this book. It covers all the aspects of IT that i needed to know. As i never did IT lessons at school, this book has bought me up to date and is a truly lovely book to follow and understand. easily set out to understand and plenty of examples. Certainly would recommend this book. Many Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
It wasn't has badly damaged as I expected, it was nothing and the rest of the book was in excellent condition. The book it's self takes you through the basics, and puts it in easy to learn language. Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
i ordered this for my daughter for her gcse - ict. she was recomended it by the school, but it is very useful, and has helped her through her exams and practical work. it gives tips on most things they will need to know. very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Just step by step instructions on how to do various things in office applications - does not encourage understanding, follow blindly style.

As others have said, I don't thing it covers all requirements of Functional Skills ICT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Great book to aid learning of younger/less expereinced learners of ICT.Also would be an excellent guide to anybody wishing to improve theit own ICT skills in self-study mode although the theme park theme is a little childish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
yes, the book is wonderful and the link for the files also works. Just need to get the 'kiddies' to do the work now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
This book goes into lots of detail about each step, which has its positives and negatives. Did not grab their attention. Activities are ok but I think some of the required skills are missing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
This is very useful, has helped me with my course as i hate computers and do not understand them, this is very simple text. recommend to anyone who has same problems with computers as me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
One of the best books I have bought. Use it to tutor ICT has most things I need and is easy to understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)