Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2007
An excellent, insightful and encouraging series of devotionals covering the whole Bible's narrative and theology, in line with the church calendar. The readings are short and uncomplicated, but at the same time go to the heart of what the Bible says.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2010
This wonderful walk through the bible in a year is a pure delight. John Stott's observations are, as always, insightful. The daily reflection may take you only 5 or 10 minutues but you can choose to do further study if you wish. This takes the pressure off and makes the journey exciting rather than daunting.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
As a non-conformist on principle I am not one who slavishly follows the church calendar. These daily readings do so the format took a little getting used to. John Stott's short comments are readable and succinct, a lovely aid to regular bible reading. Mr Stott was a heavy-weight theologian but this book is far from heavy going. It is, however, more substantial than many bible reading notes but theologically accurate and pastoral in tone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
This is an excellent book by one of the most respected Theologians and Bible teachers of our time. I purchased this copy for a friend as it is different to many "daily bible reading" books as it looks at periods in the Church calendar and as such draws often draws together varied scriptures to explain and emphasise the seasons in our Christian life.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This is a collection of readings for the year, with the depth of insight and sensitivity that you would expect from John Stott. However it is a comprehensive selection of passages not the complete Bible as the description states. I could have given it four stars for that, but being John Stott I had to give it five.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
I was gifted this book, and what a great gift it was! John Stott's book has seen me through the year, encouraging me to read the Bible on a daily basis.

The book has a brief background/description for passages throughout the Old and New Testaments. Readers can opt to read a few short passages a day, or when time permits to embark on "further reading".

The fact that the book fits perfectly with the Christian calendar was a great touch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Studying John Stott's book of daily readings from the Bible and his concise commentary is a wonderful way for my wife and me to start each day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
The book manages to bring out the important points of each passage daily and centres each week's reading around a theme. Very refreshing perspective and provides an option for you to read more verses if you are so inclined to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2010
Excellent service. the book is exactly what was wanted -easy to order and swiftly delivered. What more could you ask?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Great daily devotional through the year. Brief but full of insights. It was rwecommended to me and I am happy to recommend it on to you. One of the best "through the year" devotionals around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)