Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2017
Pilger is a realist with idealist principles. He's so right in that what we don't see we don't grieve over but he brings us right into the mix of all the horror and mayhem being heaped on helpless civilians who have the misfortune to occupy land coveted by the psychopathic global rulers. Unfortunately, the NWO now has us all deemed as useless eaters regardless of what we stand on and we are all to be exterminated by nuclear war no less. I haven't finished the book yet but I've already written to my MP about the psychopathic nature of the HoC rhetoric spewed in terms of terror, warmongering and nuclear suicide. I've pointed out that history, both ancient and modern, lays bear the fact that the puppet-masters of the Brits, Americans and other imperialist nations are the true terrorists manipulating the reality in which we all live. People are waking up to all the false propoganda, fake news and false flag operations and it's the likes of the John Pilgers of the world who expose all that is rotten to the core about the centuries old masters who can't be anything other than aliens. Buy everything he writes and listen to all his documentaries as he makes you feel ashamed at just sitting back and doing nothing against all the dignity shown by those bombed, incarcerated and murdered.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
Illusions can die hard. Mine were gone by the time I'd read this book - in part thanks to the documentaries Pilger did on these same issues. I'd expected the book to be dry, that the documentaries would be a hard act to follow. I was very wrong. Between the book and the documentaries, I'd recommend the book - though either is absolutely brilliant.

Others have covered the subject matter quite well, so there's no point in my rehashing it. The main thing to know is that what Pilger has uncovered is shocking and horrifying. Be prepared to acknowledge that your view of the world was far from reality - even if you'd thought you were a progressive and aware of what first world nations have done and are doing.

This is THE book to tell people to read if they want to believe that their country (US, UK, any other first-world nation) is a good guy, that their actions are based on doing what's right for people around the world.

Just tell them to read this book, and tell 'em that they have no idea what they're saying until they have. That goes for conservatives and liberals. If the liberals and progressives can still say that supporting their party (Democrat, Labour, SNP, Liberal Democrat) makes sense, then you know they haven't actually read it.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
This book is a must read for anyone who has a conscience or cares about what is really going on in this world. The message is do not believe what the BBC or American news tell you as they have their own agenda and propaganda to peddle as do most of the newspapers. If the average person on the street had a clue about what is really going on they would be horrified.
John Pilger is a first rate journalist who you can rely on to tell the truth as it is because he checks the facts before reporting it mostly on first hand experience. Waken up everyone and read this book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2017
Re-printed with a new introduction, this is a must-read. Especially now that there is a new president in the US - makes it even more important and relevant. Pilger's films are equally good - and more harrowing when you see pictures of what he is writing about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2016
If this book doesn't make you angry, seek medical advice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
No messing hard fact and uncomfortable truths - Pilger debunks our adherence to any claim of moral superiority or respect for international law and respect for human rights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
I believe this is a book everyone should read. Fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2004
One of the great tragedies of recent times is the death of quality journalism; so much of the press is given over to hype, scandal, trivia, or spin, so much of the press is owned and controlled by so few politically powerful magnates, there appears little room for investigative reporting or thorough analysis. There are a few, inspiring exceptions.
John Pilger has an incisive writing style, a sharp focus, and apparently endless energy. For years, now, he has been castigating our political and economic masters, exposing the abuses of power and uses of corruption which dominate international relations and internal politics. In his "New Rulers", Pilger shines his investigative light into areas the press is usually happy to abandon to darkness.
It's a well judged package - looking at the plight of the indigenous population in Australia, at ethnic conflict in East Timor, at Turkish abuses of Kurds, at Western abuses of Iraq and Afghanistan, and at the tensions of the Middle East. It's a world in which globalisation is not just a word, it's a world where globalisation means manipulation of silence - thousands of people will die today, tomorrow, and the next day because it is to the advantage of the West and the political status quo.
This is a timeless enquiry. The abuses Pilger exposes have not gone away. They will not go away until investigative journalism, or crusading journalism of Pilger's quality becomes the yardstick by which we judge our newspapers, magazines, television and radio coverage. Implicit in Pilger's analysis is the recognition that we, each of us, have to get up and make our voices heard. We have to demand greater press freedom, we have to demand better standards, and we have to take to the streets and ballot boxes and protest ... until people like Blair and Bush are forced to take note and not simply try to explain away the suffering of the world as a necessary toll in their war against 'terrorism'.
0Comment| 127 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
I am still reading the first chapter and already I think that this is a book well worth reading. Regular as clock, we're "bombarded" with documentaries or films about the two world wars and how Hitler and his cronies were such a bunch of evil people (which they were!). However, there's little or nothing about world events which are a lot more recent and put Hitler's actions into prespective, unfortunately, he was one of many evil ones but we only seem to hear about him. Why don't we hear about other equally appalling world events again and again as a reminder? Because they happened in Asia or Africa, not in Europe or America, and therefore they don't matter, because the atrocities happened to "unpeople" (term used by the author). Also, because it was the very countries that hail themselves as the defenders of freedom and democracy against the nazies (and others since) that promoted and supported brutal regimes because it was convenient for economic and political reasons. This is an inconvenient truth, and a very sad one as well.
33 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)