Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2010
Born in Wharf Street I can relate wholly with this book,it is a dedication to the poor and unselfish people who came through the depredation of Leicester, who survived 2 world wars but brought their children up with strength and respect, an absolute must for the decerning nostalgic as well as the grandchilden of the slum evacuees,these people were poor but they did not need locks on their doors,buy this book it will open your eyes.Well done Ned.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2010
This is a fascinating book on the slums of Leicester but it could equally apply to any large city in the UK. The book is well illustrated with photographs of many slum areas and these help to give a real picture of how appalling the slums were.It gives a vivid account of life in the slums where the average lifespan was only about 25 years, disease was rampant and at least 1 in 5 babies died before the age of one. It is quite an eye opener!
I can just remember the last of the slums in Leicester as one of my aunts lived there. There was only gas lighting and a stand pipe for water. There was a block of "privvies" which looked too unsavoury to use apart from the lack of privacy. All these memories came back as I read the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2010
This excellent book is crammed with photographs of the poorer areas of Leicester in the 19th and early 20th century. For family historians wanting to know more about the conditions in which their ancestors lived it is really valuable. There is nothing to beat the delight in seeing the long-gone street where an ancestor lived. The case reports add to its interest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
I bought this book for my husband who was delighted with it. He would recommend it for anyone who has an interest or roots in Leicester, especially those delving into their family history. The book has been well researched and is backed by a good range of photographs. It makes an ideal addition to your library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Wonderful collection of photographs that bring the slum areas of Leicester to life.In researching my family history,I couldn't believe how many of the streets and actual houses,were my families dwelling places.
Delighted to have found such an interesting book,that is full of detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
Great book with a fantastic record of places in Leicester that no longer exist. It does exactly what is says on the tin!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
This is a fantastic book which I am sure would be of interest to all people born in Leicester. It is an amazing documentary and is in the living memory of a lot of people. It could also be of interest to people living in other cities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
This is an excellently-produced book providing substantial detail of Leicester's slum areas. Even though I knew what to expect before buying the book, the vividness of its content left me somewhat depressed! Particularly helpful are the maps and other information indicating exactly where the photographs were taken. The presence of the maps alone lifts this book above the standard of the usual "then and now" or "vintage" photo volumes. Even though some of the photos in this book have been published elsewhere, the additional information provided here makes them worth looking at again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Really very interesting read. Fascinating to learn about such local history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Very interesting book gives an insight into how our forefathers lived
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)