Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Quite a good read from a slightly different perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
This is a great book, written by one of the unsung heroes of football - a man who worked extremely closely with the greatest managerial partnership ever! There's loads that I didn't know about the dealings that went on and the gambling! Would definitely recommend it to anyone interested in the Great Man of football.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
I was expecting a series of anecdotes and fun revelations about the famous pairing. Unfortunately, these were few and far between. This book is basically a biography of a chief scout - the first 25% of the book is his playing career and struggle to buy a post office, not what I was after. The rest of the book is a meander through a list of some of the authors favourite scouting achievements and Brian and Peter are, frankly, somewhat an after thought. A well intentioned book but it doesn't provide any insight or amazement to an already well stocked topic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This is a superb book by Maurice Edwards recalling the life and times of Brian Clough & Peter Taylor as their chief scout. There was a lot of stuff that I was totally unaware of before reading the book including a certain link between Peter Taylor and Manchester United. What exactly? Read the book and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
A very good read , interesting and informative about the behind the scenes world of football. Very entertaining insight into the life and times of Brian & Peter a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
A lovely change to hear how a modest man can do great and valuable work and unfortunately gain minimum recogniton even from the beneficiaries of all those years of toil.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
I have to say what a letdown this book was. While Maurice Edwards seems a totally decent guy and comes over as such, his close proximity to two of the game's greats is barely reflected in the book. I bought this expecting some wonderful insights and behind-the-scenes stuff about Clough and Taylor - but after a while I found myself trudging through mundane accounts of past events with no really new revelations. The title is enticing, but the content is a real case of not doing what it said on the tin. That Maurice was close to these guys is obviously not in question, but as you struggle to get to the end of the book, you can't help thinking it is a fantastic opportunity missed. By the end I honestly didn't feel I knew the two of them any better which was the promise in the title and the whole point of buying it. Good idea - poorly executed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
An excellent book. A good insight into how Brian Clough and Peter Taylor worked together during their lifetime in football.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
A must read for those who believe Cloughie was the best manager England never had
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
nice item..many thanks..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)