Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2009
Sumptuous, clever, gorgeous. This book is everything it says it attempts to be.

So many "inspirational" garden books disappoint as soon as you open them, blighted by too many words and the ego of the author on a subject which was ever, and will always be, subjective.

In this book, Andrew Lawson's beautiful and evocative photos pack the pages. A multitude of garden styles are captured at their very best by someone who very clearly knows their plants, and fully comprehends the context.

I believe this is Tania Compton's first book, but her contribution is wonderful. Almost understated, she gives concise descriptions of exactly the information you want to hear - a little historical background, especially the ethos of the garden owners; precise details of relevant planting.

Few garden books manage to convey mood so well.

As a source book, this truly achieves what it sets out to do... And it's just a pure joy to pore over.

I'd recommend it to garden lovers and designers everywhere, and I look forward to the authors' next collaboration.

I know for years to come I will treasure this.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
This is a wonderful book. It will appeal to you because:

1 The photographs are superb
2 It will give you great ideas on how to photograph your garden
3 Even with a small garden this book gives you ideas
4 When there is snow and ice on the ground you can curl up in front of the fire with this book and dream of gardens.

Once I bought this book I had to look for other books with photos by Andrew Lawson.

But beware - once you are used to the photos in this book it ruins you for the photos in most garden books .
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Dream Gardens is a book that appeals to people that only like cottage gardens, there is absolutely no variety and each page you turn looks like you are still in the same garden.
The title of the book should be changed to 'dream cottage gardens' so people know exactly what they're getting before they buy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
Photos galore of 100 inspirational dream gardens. Easy to dip into, lots of great photography of plants, ornament, and planting styles. The only text is a brief description of each garden and it's design, I'm sure if you wanted to know more you could research a particular garden, but this is great for just poring over the pictures. Deducted one star because I wish it had a hard cover.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
One of the best illustrated/coffee table garden books on the market at the moment. Great photography, stunning gardens, beautiful production. The perfect gift for any serious gardener in my opinion.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
A superb book. Great value. Excellent photography and a wonderful amount of images to inspire and provide reference. Does not disappoint.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
A beautifully presented book with informative text and fantastic photographs. A real source of inspiration and a good base from which to explore the ideas of the garden designers shown.

However - I bought this as it was described as showing 'gardens from around the world' and was disappointed that with a (very) few exceptions the gardens are all northern European. If you are looking for inspiration for, say, a mediterranean garden, look elsewhere.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
I purchased this book for my boyfriend, he loves it. And I have been reading it constantly too. The gardens in this book are beautiful. And I love the way it has been divided into different seasons.
Really wish I had spent a bit extra and bought it in hardback though!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This is a great book for inspiration. Mostly covers large gardens. I've a new build house with a large garden and I spend ages leafing through this book. Would like to see a few more 'lush' gardens, foliage and water, but I think this is aimed at UK or northern European gardens, so possibly that's why there's a focus.

It's packed from cover to cover and runs in seasons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this book and have glamps through it many times. I always discover something new. Fantastic pictures and not to many written words. Wish you have more books like this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse