Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2015
This is an excellent 'coffee table' book about the beginning of public service broadcasting and the building and subsequent development of London Broadcasting House, the home of BBC UK and World Service and now News, The BBC's local & National Centres are important, though you won't find them in this book, and shouldn't, given its title and cover. The Book is very well produced and well researched with high quality photographs and diagrams, some from the original "Broadcasting House" book published in 1932. It has some interesting cameos of some early contributors to the service, and the founding management ethos. The book translates the Latin inscription in the entrance foyer as "This temple of the arts and muses is dedicated to Almighty God by the first Governors of Broadcasting in the year 1931, Sir John Reith being Director-General. It is their prayer that good seed sown may bring forth a good harvest, that all things hostile to peace or purity may be banished from this house, and that people, inclining their ear to whatsoever things are beautiful and honest and of good report, may tread the path of wisdom and uprightness".
If you are interested in Public Service Broadcasting, where and how it started, giving such excellent value for us all this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
In many ways, broadcasting was invented inside these walls. This book traces the history of Broadcasting House, Portland Place, London, through its planning and construction. And then, through its beautiful restoration in 2005-2007. Fascinating photos from the BBC archive and beautiful contemporary photos of the building post-refurb.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
This is a fascinating photographic history of the BBC in recent years. I feel that the BBC generates so much goodwill because of its iconic symbols, and certainly the photos presented here by the BBC are distinguished and instinctive, representing a badge of honour. I would strongly recommend this book for anyone interested in this subject, even as casual coffee table reading. I strongly recommend it.

Dr Shibley Rahman from North London (relevance: I go past this building on the front cover in a cab almost everyday!)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
The BBC is a key part of UK life. Unbiased and descriptive this book brought the foundations up to date.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
Bought this book as "used", but it honestly looks brand spanking new - not a mark or blemish!

- it's a wonderful book on the history of Broadcasting House; very detailed and with loads of high quality b&w and colour photos.

The seller is spot on - rapid dispatch - well packaged and a terrific price for such an immaculate copy.

I highly recommend this book and the seller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2013
This is a beautiful book. Full of amazing history and photos of the early days of radio broadcasting. A nostalgia trip for all ex BBC staff and probably and insight for the new ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
My son is a news director at Wisconsin Public Radio and I gave him the book for his 50th birthday. He loved it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
I there are other BBC maniacs like me around, all I would say is 'get this volume now - you owe it to yoursefl!'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
Bought this as a present for someone who's father was in the BBC during the development of TV and outside broadcasting. Very pleased with the reaction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
Great story, great illustrations, and a great time had by all at Broadcasting House when they showed the film this week!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)