Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2002
This book goes in to great detail about every asspect of the gowns, even down to each stitch.Each page has deailed drawings which helps to convey the information in the descriptions along side them .With the detailed descriptions and measurments of each costume, means that it can be made from scratch .This is a must have book for anyone who is fascinated in period costume.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 1999
Each page provides full details of the custumes, how it was made, the type of material used, who may have worn it and to what occassion. Invaluble for students and designers alike.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
Most costume books only give you a general description of period dress.This is the exception. Nancy has painstakingly covered even the tiniest details of the clothing she has examined.You could not find a more accurate reference to period costume than this.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
Full of detiled pictures, giving all the information you could ask for from fabrics used to colours and prints. Especially helpful for students and anyone wanting to base designs on historical costume but are not sure where to start with the finer details.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2004
Hand drawings of dresses and accessories (roughly one dress for every couple of years) mainly drawn from dresses in the Snowshill collection. The drawings show front and back views plus close ups of certain aspects of the garment and include measurements in inches.
I am using the book as a reference but I do think that if you're good/experienced at making your own patterns you could recreate the dresses with the detail given.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 1999
Nancy Bradfield (1913 - 1997) was a leading authority on the history of English Costume. This book is the culmination of many years of painstaking research and is presented as a unique collection of meticulously detailed drawings and authoritative text, which show both dresses and accessories in such a way that every aspect of construction, fastening and trimming can be studied. The majority of items featured are from Private Collections, therefore have never been seen by the general public, indeed some are too frail to be displayed. In 1989 Nancy Bradfield was awarded the O.B.E. in recognition of her lifetime's work studying the history of English dress.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Initially had this book on loan from my library and kept renewing it for reference. Love the line drawings and explanations. Very helpful in making two Victorian dresses - 1850 and 1880, currently working on a Regency dress. Love the book, like leafing through it. The text is informative, short detailed paragraphs about the era and notes on construction. It's nice to see 'inside' a costume i.e. drawings on how the item of clothing was constructed in earlier years. As an amateur this book is helping me improve my expertise. I enjoy looking through it and have no doubt others will enjoy this purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I had got fed up borrowing my friend's book to look at all the drawings whenever venturing into making a historic outfit for re-enactment; so many useful little details that a photograph of the whole dress would miss. In itself, the book is an interesting read, each page crammed with drawings, large and small, which is all annotated to help the explanation. Whether you are someone who intends to go on to actually make an outfit or just are interested in a certain period or the history of clothing as a whole and to see how it has developed over the years, this book is a useful addition to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
If you are a fan of period dress, then buy this book. It doesn't tell you in detail how to make it, but the drawings are beautiful and the information is well written. I will be taking plenty of inspiration from this book when making my own period costumes for freeforming events in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
a superb book for anyone interested in costume, for whatever reason. For writers of historical fiction, costume designers, readers interested in the details of history - or as in my case, for my daughter who competes in side saddle costume classes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)