Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Proper Brummie: A Dictionary of Birmingham Words and Phrases
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 December 2008
I love this book- it's so funny!
I lived in the Midlands for a few years, and this has brought back many happy memories :)
Not just for Brummie's- anyone with a sense of humour and an interest in local accents will love it too.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2008
If you live in the West Midlands you will love this book - I can't imagine that a single word or phrase has been left out - so a very well researched book by the authors. (One of whom is Steve Thorne not Stuart Thorne!). It will make you laugh and it will make you remember all of those phrases that various family members have used over the years - best of all it will tell you where these words and phrases originated from. An excellent book - worth the price
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2011
From well known venacular to obselete little used slang. It also includes a brief description of the derivations of the names of most of the districts. An education for anyone interested in local language anywhere. It almost proves Shakespeare was more likely a Brummie than the Earl of Oxford with some of the old words that are still in use locally.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
A good present for a Brummie living far from home but with fond memories of the city in 30's and 40's.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
Just the book I was expecting. Plenty or 'ordinairy' words that I recognise (being a Brummie) with some other strange ones I've never heard of. Good information on how certain areas of Birmingham got their names.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
Bought this as a birthday present for an ex Brummie - he thought it was great and had some real "belly laughs" as he read it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Bought for a fellow brummie moving away. She loved it and will treasure it to remind her of Birmingham. Very Pleased.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
Bought as a stocking filler for my father who found his book extremely funny
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Bostin read - love finding stuff out about B'ham's past.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2016
Had a copy of the book before and lost it, had to get another copy as I liked the book. You will have to get the book and find out what a drop hole is...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)