Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2017
This book is very instructive but is also a very good story and one full of surprises! Read and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
impossible to find a better and easier way to explain philosophy. Gaarder has been fantastic. Philosophy is explained in a light, funny and easy way that wouldn't scare anyone. Whenever I want to suggest a book to anyone interested in approaching philosophy, this is always the first book I buy or suggest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
This novel not only slowly unravels a mystery that sucks you in, but it teaches you about philosophy itself. The fact that you can join along with Sophie- answering the questions and learning about the history of philosophy- is brilliant. I truly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
excellent story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
I have it to a teenager to understand philosophy. I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Gaarder's work has proved to be a huge success in the market, selling many copies and achieving critical acclaim. This is also represented in the frequency with which it is cited as one of the best introductions to philosophy, according to those who have read it.
This, however, seems to have been a rather inflated truth and one which sets up great expectations which the book simply cannot deliver on. The novel structure of the book may have been inviting to a wider audience than perhaps philosophy is used to, yet the actual effect is somewhat less attractive. Gaarder's prose is often reminiscent of teen literature and does little to embellish the story line, which is also problematic and often vague. This is a personal interpretation, however, and ought not to discourage others from enjoying it if the prose style is of little consequence.
The real highlight of this book, though this is not much of a highlight still, is the philosophical teachings that Knox espouses. However, this seems to be superficial and often cannot cite arguments for the conclusions. In this way, the point of real philosophising is often left to a few criticisms under the guise of Sophie's incredulity. Overall, it has to be said that if the reader's intention is to have a very simple level of understanding and an easy read, this is definitely the correct book.
Overall, Sophie's world is an enjoyable entry-level work and has the possibility of provoking real philosophical thought and reading. For this, as well as the basic introduction and novel approach, it has earned three stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2009
With a book like this, it's important to know what kind of book it is before you read it. First and foremost this is an educational book, in which the lessons are faciltated by means of a story, so if it's light fiction your after then this isn't the book for you. This may sound obvious to most people, but I know a couple of people who bought this book not realising this. As for me I knew what I was buying beforehand (indeed I deliberately bought it to be educated) and therefore got a lot out of it. As far as I'm concerned this book more than achieves it's goal in teaching what can be a complex subject in a relatively understandable way. My only gripe about this book is that sometimes Sophie's dialogue (both in her conversations with the people around her and in her internal thought process) can feel a bit contrived and, for me at least, slightly irritating. Again though let us remember that this is an educational book and should be judged mainly on that basis. That being said though, one clever aspect of the story writing in this book is that early on in the story there are a number of questions relating to the plot that are answered later in ways you weren't really expecting at all.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
This is a book young people, even children can really relate to, the first book to actually engage youth in the important discovery of the wonder of life. It keeps you on edge and makes you dwell on the big questions of human existence. At the same time teaching g you about history it really gives a good and clear overview of human evolution of thought.

I also like the narrative used, Sophie is the perfect bridge between childish wonder and adulthood. I can really relate to her person, and her relationship with her philosophy teacher Alberto. Really with a read for young people who struggle with the heavy reading in history and philosophy. It is equally entertaining as it is enlightening?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
To wordy and no story as such, boring in the extreme.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Not quite half way through but finding this book extremely boring, not sure I will stick with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse