Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 31 October 2011
I met Albert Speer...And this was book that made me want to meet him - this and "Spandau - The Secret Diaries".

Just after Christmas in 1979 I went to see Speer at his Heidelberg home in West Germany. I had gone to interview him for BBC radio. The trip was carried out in secret. Only a couple of BBC managers, who approved the enterprise, knew what I was doing. And I told no-one until the programmes were broadcast. I went alone - no companions, or production team - just me and Speer alone in his Heidelberg study with a tape recorder running. I met him four times, recording long interviews for six half-hour programmes called "The Hitler Years". You can hear extracts on the BBC website.

So why did "Inside the Third Reich" make such an impression and make me want to meet its author? Because the book changed the way I thought about Hitler. It was the first I'd read that made Hitler seem a plausible human being. Some people say this is wrong. They argue anything that humanises Hitler is improper. He was a monster. All that matters are his crimes.

The trouble with this argument is that it makes Hitler impossible to understand - just a raving lunatic who gormless Germans - not intelligent people like us! - mindlessly followed. But Hitler was more subtle and intelligent than people allow - an evil genius with a surprising amount of twisted knowledge, well read and an extensive interest in the arts. His only weapons to begin with were his voice - he was highly articulate and persuasive - and a superhuman will-power. Hitler claimed he was the greatest actor in Europe. One of his adjutants said even in private it was impossible to tell when he was acting, or sincere. The performance was flawless. He was very convincing.

Speer was aware of the problems after the war while languishing in Spandau jail. There he spent 20 years in prison for crimes against humanity. On 10 February 1947 he wrote in his diary, 'I get the impression that people are increasingly representing Hitler as a dictator given to raging uncontrollably and biting the rug even on the slightest pretexts. This seems to me a false and dangerous course. If the human features are going to be missing from the portrait of Hitler, if his persuasiveness, his engaging characteristics, and even the Austrian charm he could trot out are left out of the reckoning, no faithful picture of his will be achieved.'

He has a point. Decades later a British Member of Parliament, who was also a university lecturer, said to me, 'Hitler was mad.' And that's a common held view. Hitler was insane. But that's not the view of Albert Speer, or Hitler's doctors. Hitler was a hypochondriac. He had a number of doctors. None thought he was even mentally ill, let alone insane. Admittedly, Hitler had terrible rages and an increasing number of mental breakdowns towards the end of his life as his world collapsed around him. But none of his staff thought he was mad. His valet, Heize Linge, who knew him intimately in private, addressed the problem in his memoirs and said Hitler was sane. He, and everybody around him, saw Hitler as a 'genius', but a genius who had a different - we would say perverse and evil - view of the world. This is what makes Hitler so difficult to understand. Of all the villainous leaders down the centuries Hitler is one of the most difficult to fathom. He's a psychological conundrum. That's one reason so many books are written about him. People are trying to solve the puzzle - what was this man really like? Speer helps solve the problem and takes us inside the terrible mind of the dictator. Hitler, he told me, was a stange mixture of the normal and demoniacal.

Anti-Semitism may have been a driving force in Hitler's life, but initially he seemed to offer the German people much more - a glittering future. No more unemployment - stability, order. He would crackdown on Communists and introduce a Socialist-style state open to talent with no class divisions. Anyone, it seemed, could rise to the top (unless you were Jewish, gay, Slav, black, Asian etc). He was going to tear up the hated Treaty of Versailles and restore Germany's dignity and honour. There were wonderful ceremonies, designer uniforms, the Olympic games - a life of endless events and fun. A heady mix! Speer, like so many Germans, was carried away with the excitement and the architectural opportunities Hitler gave him.

Authors are sometimes different from the image they project in their books. So what was Speer like? The Albert Speer I met and spent hours talking to was exactly like the man in his books.

But how honest was Speer? Speer was honest where you'd expect him to be, and dishonest where you'd expect him to be. So don't expect the whole truth on slave labour, the persecution of the Jews, or the Holocaust. He would have ended up on the gallows if he'd revealed all. But Speer was good on the atmosphere round Hitler. He was good on the dictator and his Court, the feel of Nazi Germany, architecture, strategy and armaments. Here he provides real insights and makes a valuable contribution to history and our understanding of the Third Reich. Hugh Trevor-Roper used him as a major source for his book "The Last Days of Hitler".

'Did you like Albert Speer?' a Jewish friend once asked me. '"Like," is the wrong word,' I replied. 'Speer was amiable and easy to work with when I was interviewing him - more so than some of the people I've worked with in the BBC, Fleet Street and publishing, let alone my own father - a notably tricky character. There was none of the old arrogance people complained about when he was in power. He was modest, relaxed and had a good, if disconcerting, sense of humour.

But villains often appear quite normal. On the surface they're like us - not blood-drenched like characters in a Hammer horror film. Many of the senior Nazis had a good education. There was nothing in Himmler's background that suggested he would become one of the most horrifying and reviled men of all time. His daughter adored her kind, gentle, smiling, papa.

Yet you still hear people asking, 'Do you think there could ever be another Hitler?' as if the Nazi dictator were a one off. In truth he was a spectacular example of a type of leader who is always with us. Chairman Mao slaughtered even more people than Hitler - 70 million people. He was the greatest genocidal murderer in history, though for some reason people blame him less.

Speer's book should be read in conjunction with his "Spandau - The Secret Diaries" and Frederic Spotts's remarkable work "Hitler and the Power of Aesthetics" (which I've also reviewed here on Amazon). There the author argues Hitler's interest in the arts was as intense as his racism. It affected the way he behaved and ruled and explains why intelligent people such as Speer fell under his spell. Like Speer's books it will change the way you look at the Nazi dictator and make him more understandable.

At the end of my interviews with Speer a curious incident occurred. While we were waiting for my taxi to arrive and take me back to my hotel we sat back and relaxed. To fill in gap in the conversation I casually asked him a question. If he could live his life over again which would he prefer to be - a nonentity with and easy conscience, or somebody famous who was troubled by what he'd done? The reply seemed obvious and I never bothered to ask the question during our interviews. Speer's answer was startling. 'I would prefer to be famous,' he replied.

Strangely enough no-one, not even Gitta Sereny in her exhaustive 700-page book, picked this up even though it's been in the public domain since 1980. Anthony Howard, who then edited the BBC magazine called "The Listener", published it in the magazine along with extended extracts from the interviews.

I think it was a moment of revelation.
3535 Comments| 184 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2010
Albert Speer was one of the few repulsive cast of characters sitting in the dock at the Nuremberg Trial who was regarded with any degree of sympathy by those who were there. He was superficially more appealing than the others and his apparent disillusionment with Hitler and his denouncement of Nazi ideology went down well with the court and without doubt helped keep him from joining the fate of his fellow defendants on the scaffold. Many people thought at the time and since that he was lucky not to have been hanged. His later testimony when he became quite a celebrity in the western media and his admission towards the end of his life shows that he knew more than he let on at Nuremberg tends to support this view. He clearly had more knowledge of and involvement in what was happening regarding the use of slave labour and the extermination of the Jews than he admitted when he was questioned at Nuremberg in 1946 and when he wrote Inside the Third Reich in 1970.

Allowing for his bouts of selective amnesia his book is nevertheless a fascinating account of someone who was very close to Hitler and at times you get the impression that he greatly admired his Fuhrer and Hitler had a high regard for Speer and viewed him as a mixture of the architect he never was and the son he never had. Speer was obviously a very intelligent man who was greatly in awe of Hitler and was carried away by the huge amount of power that his association with Hitler gave him. He was smart enough not ask too many questions during the war and looked the other way when it suited him but when Germany faced defeat his admiration for his Fuhrer dried up. He was also smart enough to know how to appeal to the judges at Nuremberg and thus avoid the hangman. His book, written by one of the few surviving members of Hitler's court, is fascinating but the nature of Speer's character always leaves a nasty taste in my mouth.

David Rowland
33 Comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2015
Undoubtedly an incredibly valuable book, certainly a one off the like of which we'll never see again.

So why only 3 stars?

Well first and foremost, I just didn't find it an engaging or enjoyable book.

Meeting follows meeting, memoranda follows memoranda. Architecture and the logistics of manufacturing form the vast majority of the books hefty 700+ pages and quite frankly a lot of it is just dull. Repeatedly and exhaustively dull.

Its a book which certainly reinforces the idea that, at heart, the Nazis were simply a bunch of power crazed pen pushing beaureaucrats.

Secondly we have the author. Just what are we to make of Speer himself?

I found the almost accidental rise to the very top of the Nazi hierarchy portrayed here rather difficult to believe and can we truly accept Speer's naivety and claims of ignorance (willful?) in respect of forced labour, concentration camps and the holocaust?

Its up to the reader to try and see the wood through the trees and I don't think I quite managed it. I finished the book with more questions than answers about Speer and have to admit it became a bit of a chore towards the end - I felt it went on for almost as long as the war itself!

Overall I'm glad I read this book but can't truthfully recommend it for anything other than research, its not one for enjoyment or relaxation.

5* for its historical value but 3* overall
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2016
The book starts as a good read, but after a while you realise the author is not telling the whole story, Speer was a talented architect but not a soldier but circulating with the nazi regime at the highest level blatantly omits key strategies of the war. He was part of the terror but writes himself off as a non participant, and a saviour of Germany during the final months of the war, I doubt if I'll finish the book.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 July 2011
This is a truly great book, by a man who was one of Hitler's most intimate associates for the entire duration of one of the most evil regimes in the history of mankind. As a deeply personal memoire, it is also a testament to human dignity that is written in a wonderful and highly literary style. I was utterly rivetted by the story and learned invaluable lessons about Hitler himself, viewed as a human being and not merely the monster that he certainly was.

The book starts with Speer as a young man, deeply frustrated by his lack of career prospects as a fledgling architect. While not necessarily original or brilliant, he was highly disciplined and cultured, from the upper middle class. Thus, you see him drawn to Hitler's magnetism, an inexplicable attraction that proved irresistable to this ambitious youth. As such, I do not believe we should so facilely judge him. He came to believe that Hitler was a great leader, capable of leading the nation to great things from the chaos of the inter-war years. So, he began to associate himself with the party. As a frustrated architect himself, Hitler viewed Speer with unusual and personal favor. And so bgean a remarkable career that ended when Speer was only 40, thus his prime youth.

Slowly, Speer worked his way into Hitler's intimate entourage, spending many hours going over megalomaniacal plans for fascist buildings and even entire city plans. Everything they did had to be bigger than anything ever done, either in Rome or the US, to reflect the "glory" of the regime. This is the first third of the book and in many ways is the most revealing and fascinating. From the start, he was struck at the crudeness of the culture of Hitler's inner circle, as they gathered around him and formed a kind of court to flatter the dictator's vanity and curry favor and power. Speer held himself aloof from much of this, but also found the power and prestige irrestible. He was seduced and in psychological thrall, which essentially lasted until Hitler's death.

What was most surprising to me was how little Hitler and the others actually worked prior to the War: what they spent most of their time doing was projecting their fantasies into the minds of Germans via spectacular architecture, propanganda gestures, and aggressive though bloodless diplomacy. It was a unique combination of mass-media technology and parochial isolation that is impossible to imagine today. To a certain extent, you feel you get to know all of Hitler's entourage, from Goebbels, Goering, and Hess to lesser figures like Eva Brown, Borman and Himmler. The portraits are complex and invaluable.

During this time, Speer claims, he had many intimations of the doom and destruction that were to follow, often from solemn pronouncements by Hitler that his gamble might leave him as one of the great villains of history - if he failed. Speer even developed a theory of how to construct buildings that would decay "well" - to reflect the power of the regime for all ages, as does the Roman Colosseum or Hadrian's dome - in spite of their modern technological requirements for higher maintenance than earlier stone-based monuments.

Then, with the war and his appointment as Armaments Minister, we witness Speer's complete corruption. It is here that he becomes the ultimate technocrat, enabling the regime to carry out its violence and destruction by any means possible, from technological wizardry to slave labor. Most fascinatingly, Speer dissects his own psychology: he chose to ignore his conscience, walling off his mind to the attrocities around him and continuing to believe in Hitler's genius and will as providential and even perhaps divine. He also reveals himself as a naif, believing that the right technical arguments should win the day rather than politics. Speer nonetheless describes himself as a seasoned political in-fighter, often basing his strong position on his access to Hitler; there were times that this endangered him, as when Himmler's doctor may have been attepting to assasinate or at least allow him to grow mortally ill by "misdiagnosis."

Once the war begins to go badly, Speer gets even closer to Hitler with detailed explanations of the working of totalitarian governmental machinery. Starting out with near-dictatorial powers (as the 2nd most powerful man in the regime for a time), Speer witnesses how his dependence on Hitler's approval dooms him to the sidelines as the Nazi party apparatus gains power, in large part to protect Hitler from the seeing realities of the war losses. Moreover, he depicts the limits of Hitler's vision, stuck as it was in his WWI experience and the mediocrity of his technical imagination. Thus, Speer catalogues his increasingly catastrophic decisions, from fundaamental strategic blunders like attacking the USSR to tactical ones, such as his insistence that the first jet aircraft should serve as bombers rather than defensive fighters. This is fascinating political science, showing both the strengths of the regime - Hitler in his amateurishness could surprise enemies with audacious and unorthodox tactics supported by new technologies, hence the Blitzkrieg - to the dangers of over-centralization as Hitler proved unable to delegate even the most mundane details. From efficiency of the Nazi killing machine, you witness its decline into incompetence, with the costs in German lives rising with stupid decisions. Speer also addresses many questions, such as the extent of the regime's pursuit of a nuclear weapon and other high tech secret weapons. It is singularly illuminating.

Speer also chronicles how he began to fight Hitler, particularly after he ordered a scorched earth policy for inside of Germany, which would have destroyed its industrial base. Here Speer acts the hero, attempting to preserve factories and bridges as all order crumbles around them. In a startling transformation of loyalty that Speer cannot completely renounce, he recognises Hitler as a man devoid of human emotion and empathy, a kind of sociopathic murderer like those around him, though Speer exempts himself from these crimes in his deepest heart. This is a story of psychological deterioration and the acceptance of death as the only way out. While he fails to fully explain or comprehend Hitler, perhaps we never will; at any rate, Speer avoids simplitic psychological labels.

Finally, there is the Nuremberg trial, in which Speer claims he was truthful and accepted his guilt. While the reader must remain suspicious of Speer's persona here - it appeared nakedly self-seving to me, yet with an honest voice of remorse - he makes a good case for Germany's new course and the end of the Hitler myth.

All in all, this is one of the best historical memoirs I ever read. Warmly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2011
By far, the best autobiographical book to come from World War II. Albert Speer was Hitler's architect, personal friend, and from 1942 on, a key part of Germany's war effort, as minister of armaments. After World War II, he was tried at Nuremberg, being one of the few of the accused to make a semi apology for having served in the Third Reich. He was sentenced to 20 years in jail, mainly because of the use of slave labor from the East in the building of armaments. He served every day of his sentence, being released only in October 1966. In 1969 he published his acclaimed, best selling memoirs, which appeared in English in 1970 as "Inside the Third Reich". The title of this long but extremely interesting volume is fitting, since in the book he gives many intimate, tantalizing details into the workings of the Nazi dictatorship. He gives very interesting portraits of the main leaders, Hitler, of course, but also of Goering, Goebbels, Himmler, Bormann, Doenitz, Keitel and even Eva Braun.

Speer came from an intellectual, upper middle class family, which was in contrast (as he is quite keen to note) with the working class, sparsely educated background of much of the Third Reich hierarchy. Speer, who writes very well, comes off this book as an intelligent, cultivated and hard working bureaucrat, but also a bit of an opportunist, and with an obvious lack of moral anchor.

The book starts with his childhood, but the early years are dispended rapidly. Soon, we are in 1930, the young Speer already an assistant professor of architecture, is impressed when Hitler comes to his university to make a speech (he came in a blue suit and tie instead of in military fatigues, and his speech was calm and professorial instead of rambling). He decides to join the party, and through his work as an architect to various Nazi party members, starts making contacts within the party. Eventually, he comes to known Hitler personally in 1933, soon after being named chancellor, when he is asked to do some designing work for the Fuhrer. Hitler soon is enchanted with Speer and makes him a part of his inner circle. Perhaps, as Speer himself speculates, Hitler, a frustrated architect in his youth, sees Speer as a bit of an alter ego, the kind of person he would have wished at one time to become. In the following years, Hitler made him design great urban projects, including the monumental redesigning of Berlin as Germania, the imperial capital of the Reich (most of these projects never came to light because of the war).

More or less accidentally, after the previous minister of armaments died in a mysterious plane crash, Hitler named Speer, who happened to be in his headquarters at that time, his successor (Goering rushed to see Hitler to get the vacant post, but to no avail). In his new post, Speer is quite successful in boosting armaments production, mainly by ways of centralizing decision making. However, he is soon the target of intrigues and nasty backstabbing from other Nazi leaders: from 1943 on, Bormann in alliance with Himmler and Goebbels try hard to convince Hitler of firing him. If we are to believe Speer, Himmler even tried to kill him by assigning to him a quack SS doctor, who made a relatively minor illness he had a serious one. The book ends with Germany's defeat, his sentence in Nuremberg, and the start of his long sentence in Spandau prison (a later memoir would cover his years of imprisonment).

While the book is very informative, I think the reader should be careful in not believing everything Speer says. Did Speer really try to kill Hitler late in the war by throwing nerve gas into the ventilation system of the Reich chancellery? Did in their last meeting Speer really confessed to a tearful Hitler that he has sabotaged his scorched earth decree? More importantly, did he really not know about the Final Solution until after the war has ended? This last point is very important and controversial. In this memoir, Speer denies knowing anything about the Holocaust until after the war. However, after the book came out, it was discovered that Speer attended the so called Posen speech, where Himmler, in analyzing the war situation, admitted in passing to the high dignitaries attending that the final solution involving killing the Jews (after this revelation came about, Speer argued, unconvincingly, that he left the speech before Himmler made this comment). It is important to note in criticizing Speer, though, that he didn't exactly come off lightly of World War II: after all, he got 20 years in jail, for God's sake. Summing up, a very interesting and very well written book, but to be read with a certain degree of skepticism.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2017
Excellent book, worthwhile read for anyone interested in World War II history and gives an unusual insight into the Third Reich and some of Hitler's decisions. Nice to get a first hand account from someone who worked with him. Didn't know this existed until it was recommended by a friend, surprised this wasn't referenced back in my A-Level History lessons.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 1998
For those interested in learning about WWII, and of the attitudes of those who waged the war, this is a fascinating and very enjoyable read, as is Speer's Memoirs from Spandau.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 September 2014
A fascinating book for the student of WW2 history or general interest reader
Speer was the so-called 'Good Nazi' who escaped the hangman's noose with a 20 year jail sentence at Nuremberg. History has viewed things rather differently: Speer was notoriously economical with the truth in his memoirs (and subsequent interviews) and though he may not have been directly implicated in the Holocaust (though his claim that he knew little or nothing about it is clearly nonsense) his involvement is slave labour to keep the Nazi war effort functioning is a criticism that he could not shake off.
Nonetheless, if you take even 80% of Speer's 1969 book at face value and as broadly accurate, it is nonetheless a fascinating insight into Hitler and the Nazi war machine, by one of the few top Nazis to survive the War (or not go into hiding). He wrote this book in Spandau prison. During his 20 years in prison (he was released in 1968), he learned to speak English but the original book was published in German first but the English version was published almost immediately to a skeptical international audience. This is a newer translation with some academic footnotes. Speer died in London in 1981. Judge for yourself - whatever your feelings on Speer, this is a very important historical document....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2010
Albert Speer was Hitler's architect and Minister of Arms and Munitions. He was close to Hitler and gives us a glimpse of the man through his life in the years 1933 through 1945. The author wrote this memoir while serving his sentence for war crimes in Spandau prison. A sentence he agreed he deserved though he claims he did not know of the final solution. I will leave that to the reader too decide.

Speer shares what he saw as Hitler's likable traits and as a man who was capable and devoted but later or perhaps reflection in prison Speer felt these traits may have been only superficial. The work Speer did during WWII for the Third Reich was essential for the war machine to function. He claims he did not know that his friend was committing genocide but he willing used the slave labor provided for his factories.

It is mainly a book of the daily routine of the man that shared tea with Hitler and the bureaucracy that was the Third Reich. A bureaucracy that Speer knew how to handle quite well and prospered in. What it took to operate in this government is expressed in detail. The insight on how one could operate in such a regime and be successful in the construction and requisition projects that Speer was involved in. Some may fine these parts too detailed but they give us an insight on the inner workings of the regime.

As in all relationships his view of Hitler changed over time as did his view of the man. But a man is what we are shown through the eyes of the author. Though Speer admits that his country committed war crimes and he took responsibility for his part by accepting the sentence of twenty years he never apologized. As you read I feel he felt though he had a part that he was made a to pay the penalty for those who were either dead or escaped. To his credit at the end of WWII Speer did try and block some of Hitlers policy of total destruction of cities and infrastructure as the Third Reich collapsed around them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)