Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 November 2016
I adore these books and am reading them all again for the forth or fifth time. I live near Salisbury and have traced the Brothers and Sisters steps many times. A perfect book for this time of year warm fires, dark nights and creatures abroad! Love it,.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2005
When Jack 'Church' Churchill and Ruth Gallagher simultaneously witness the murder of a government official at the hands of a monstrous, undefinable being, their lives are changed dramatically as they find themselves on the run from dark demons from the dawn of time, known as the Fomorii, with only a drifter named Tom to turn to for help. Revealed to be two of the fabled Brothers and Sisters of Dragons - five mortals imbued with the power to save the world - they must seek out the remaining members of their group - Laura, an opinionated ecowarrior, Shavi, a deeply spiritual shaman, and Veitch, a well-meaning thug - and locate four objects of power that will summon the Tuatha De Danann, the Gods of old, back to our world to drive out the Fomorii. But Church has already been tainted by darkness - and the Gods are not to be trusted . . .
This, is quite simply, stunning. Read these books, because Mark Chadbourn is well on his way to becoming one of the world's best writers of fantasy fiction.
The scope of his vision is breathtaking, with painstaking research done into all the old Celtic myths and legends to create modern-day interpretations that have proven factually right and fictionally gripping. His portrayal of the six very different characters that lead the book is of particular note - even Tom, who by nature is shrouded in mystery, can be understood and sympathised with.
Having read all three of the Age of Misrule series and its sequel, The Dark Age, it's also clear to me that there are many, many clues to the events of future books in this beginning novel, and only by reading through all of them can you begin to grasp the huge scale of Chadbourn's imagination.
If you like fantasy fiction - if you like fiction at all - read these books. Once you've read one, you won't regret it and I guarantee you'll want to keep on reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2011
I remember being in my local bookstore and seeing a book on the shelf depicting a dragon sat astride a car.
As a lover of fantasy I was naturally drawn straight to this and, having read the synopsis decided it sounded promising.
Now I have read fantasy/reality crossover books before with varying results (A positive being Princess Bride and a less than positive being the Torg series) so I went in with scepticism but am happy to report than by the end of the first chapter I was hooked.
What I found was a plethora of interesting characters, beautifully realised drama and a fantastic sense of the wonderful. Everything from Black Shuck through to Faeries makes and appearance as our cast make their way to safety and the decline of technology as more natural forces re-emerge is handled with great skill as the changes gradually unfold.
All in all I can honestly say that this is easily one of the best First books in a series I have read. Mark Chadbourn deals with all manner of fantastic creatures and situations with aplomb and by the breathtaking end of the first book I went straight out to buy the second.
I can heartily recommend this to all lovers of fantasy and mythology or just those who love a damned fine epic adventure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2002
Mark Chadbourn has written a powerfully imaginative, yet often darkly seductive and disturbing epic, with modern day heroes-both fallible and believable-on a magical quest around Britain to save it and the world from another dark age, brought on by the return of once-mythical Celtic gods. Brilliantly researched, and told at an even pace, World's End is the best new work I've read for twenty years! If you're into Celtic mythology, standing stones, leylines, fairies, magic and a bloody good
read-then but this now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2007
I'd seen this book in a few shops, and each time I passed it over for no good reason. Thus, after reading it, and after getting over my delighted shock, I am writing this so no one makes the same mistake.

If you like mythology, especially Celtic, magic, anything 'New Age', dragons, or if you just have a feeling that the human race can't last much longer, then you have to read this - and the rest of the trilogy. The only dissapointment was the whole 'prophecy' idea - the five Brothers and Sisters of Dragons, the guardians of the blood of the earth (magic), must arise and defeat the darkness by finding the four talismans od the Danaan. But the origonal, amazing way in which the whole thing is accomplished - not to mention the horrific twist at the end - is enough to sweep any fantasy fan away.

I'm currently reading the second book, and Chadbourn's keeping it up. (Mind you, I'm only on the first chapter, but the prologue took FOREVER...)

All I can say is - READ IT!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2002
This book starts in a recognisable world and then slowly strips everything we know when reality as we understand it starts to collapse in on itself. The story is clever, twisting itself tighter and tighter across the trilogy, the characters are credible and the mythology deep and well researched, but above all that this is a page-turningly great story. Once you start reading this series you will be gripped until the end.
If you enjoy fantasy set in this world then you will love this series. I cannot recommend them highly enough, and I assure you I am not usually nearly this effusive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2001
The heroes are flawed, their guides cranky, and the gods and other beings of British myth far from safe or fair. From here on things just get worse for the country and the band of five heroes called to defend Britain in its darkest hour. The mythical quest combines well with a look at the disintegration of society as technology fails under the onslaught of magic. The book also reads as something of a travelogue round mystical sites in Britain; this can seem long and may appeal more to non-British readers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2000
Chadbourn has managed to weave a tale that is both startling in its complexity and width yet reassuringly easy to identify with.In today's britain,five adults with ordinary lives are suddenly thrust together after separate encounters with unmentionable horrors that speak of ancient magic and darker ages.As demons ,Gods and faerie creatures once more walk the earth,they struggle to understand the incidents that have brought them together,seemingly chosen to defend mankind from a darker age.Pursued by the Legendary Hunt,Monster dragons and demon dogs they attempt to recover sacred artifacts that might somehow release the ancient Dunadain,the faeries and angels of legend.Not understanding they unwittingly release a power that threatens to destroy mankind forever! In the first installment of a tale that is at once horrific and magical,Chadbourn manages to make the reader relive the wonder of magic from yesteryears.Enjoy the sense of wonder and the chill of foreboding evil in this modern day adventure.A must-read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2001
a fantastic book, not only for the thoroughly engrossing characters and storyline, but for the fact that it is set in britain, both ancient and modern. this must have been an immense work of research and compliation and it shows. Chadbourn not only supplies a totally engaging story, but also place a new slant on many british myths, the food for thought resulting from this is enough to make me reccommend you buy the book alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2011
World's End is the start of an epic trilogy of trilogies. The Age of Misrule series brings creatures of myth into our reality. The two worlds have been expertly merged, and create a fantastical and horrific backdrop for our heroes. The main protagonist, Jack Churchill, is an unlikely hero but likeable. He is one of 5 'Brothers and Sisters of Dragons' who are fated to save our reality from being overwhelmed by the war between the Fomorii and Golden Ones. Brilliantly written, and with far reaching plot lines that span all the following novels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse