Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2015
Quite an interesting book about the city but nothing original to what I've seen before or available online.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2007
This is a cracking book.
It has some really brilliant old photographs & map plans of Newcastle inside, as well as explaining the derivations of the street names in the city.
It is divided into sections ( for example; "From Neville Street to Blackett Street" & "North Of Blackett Street") with various photographs for the specific area of Newcastle being discussed,coupled with,as already mentioned, an explanation of the various derivations of the street names in question.
It may only be forty seven pages long but it is well worth getting a hold of.
Its a slice of fascinating local history,with an introduction by the very interesting John Grundy (the ex teacher & local history / architecture buff off the telly) it really is a superb little book.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
Only relevant if you are familiar with Newcastle, as someone who is not from Newcastle but wanted to learn more about the town, showing old photo's of mostly grimy streets did not help!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
A lovely little book that was enjoyed as a gift for an older family member. It helped to jog memories and brought a few Christmas smiles so well worth buying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2012
Great book full of interesting facts about Newcastle upon Tyne. It covers most of the city center. Arrived within three days. I really enjoyed it
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Excellent book. A real look back into Newcastle in the past. Really interesting facts, well written, about the streets and their names, I've lived in Newcastle all my life and still learned lots about its past from this book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
I saw this and thought my (88 year old) dad would like it. We have lived in Newcastle all our lives and it brought back some memories for him. Great little book of nostalgia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Bought as a fathers day gift for my dad who grew up in Newcastle. It brought back lots of memories for him & learnt a bit also!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2015
This book was everything I thought it would be and gave me a feel of my ancestors living in and around Newcastle Upon Tyne.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Some excellent old photos in this book where you can not believe how much things have changed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)