Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
61
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2014
Arrived within timeframe specified. Well wrapped and as per identified description.well liked book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
War Game
By Michael Foreman
This book is about four friends (Will, Lacey, Billy and Freddy) from Suffolk, who go off to war together. They travel though France to the battlefield, where they make themselves at home in the trenches. While they practise fighting, they become friends with their enemies, the Germans.
As Christmas approaches, they become more friendly towards the Germans. And on Christmas Day, they find a football and play together. Afterwards, when they start fighting again, Billy kicks the ball away. Will goes off to fight with the others and is injured...
I give 7/10 for this book because I found some of the story sad and upsetting. There were a lot of pictures and it wasn't very long. I might read other books by this author providing they are longer and have happy endings.
By Rachel, Derbyshire
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Great book. Enjoyable and lovely illustrations. My Son loved it and the other one we bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2002
War Game
Title: War Game
Author: Michael Foreman
Summary: Will, Freddie, Lacey and Billy join up to the War thinking it would be marvellous but when they get there it was a huge disappointment, no uniforms and poor food. They set off on a boat to in the War but…at Christmas time the Germans put some lights on a quantity of trees, this led to the sides making friends. The fighting turned into many games of football. When a sergeant arrived it was back to fighting. Will’s friends were sadly killed and Will was wounded, the last line is Will closed his eyes.
My opinion: I think this was a great read and very dramatic. I thought Michael Foreman captured the atmosphere very well and the book was very enjoyable.
Mark: 10/10
By Amy English
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2002
This book is well worth reading if you like adventure stories. Michael describes Will,Billy,Lacey and Freddie's surroundings very beautifully (e.g As far as the eye could see christmas trees were flickering along the parapet
of the German lines). I would give this book a rating of 4 out of 10 . I would have to admit that the ending of this book is rather sad and upsetting but my over-all impression of this book is that it's very adventurous and expertly
written. This book also makes you feel and think how horrible and devastating a war can really be.
The thing i dislike about this book is the illustrations because there is an awful amount of them in the book but some are historical and very dramatic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Moving, poetic and beautiful - and simple enough for children to really engage with
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
Beautiful book. Used to lead up to Remembrance assembly at school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
Every child should tead it ... Lovely book ... Lovely story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2002
War Game starts in Suffolk with Freddie ,Will , Billy and Lacey having a game of football. Then it explains about Kaiser Bill and the trouble in Germany. The boys then decided to sign up for the war.It then tells you about the trenches.Then they were killed in the war.
I think this book should be for age group 9+ because it has some hard words in it and the writing is small.It also has quite a few people dying in it.
The part I liked most about the book was when the English and the Germans had a game of football.I enjoyed this because even though they were in the middle of war they made peace...
I rate this book 3-5 as I would not read it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Great book for 8-12 year olds studying WW1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here