Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 May 2004
This is an Irish language dictionary that will grow with you, from absolute beginner to intermediate/advanced learner. The most common meanings are provided for each entry, but you're not overwhelmed with relatively obscure usages. Most entries provide sample phrases for each entry, which is very helpful if you're not quite sure of the usage.
WARNING: The print in this edition is very tiny. If you're past your twenties, or your vision isn't 20/20, consider "Focloir Scoile" instead. "Focloir Scoile" seems to be identical to "Focloir Poca", but with larger print. It won't fit in your pocket, but it is small/thin enough to be easily carried.
If you are already an advanced learner, or you do a lot of translation work, you'll probably do better with the "Focloir Gaeilge-Bearla".
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
This is a very good dictionary. Even better, it has the pronunciation of the Irish words, which other dictionaries lack.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
The Irish Foclòir Pòca dictionary is nothing more than a small pocket dictionary... Due to some misleading reviews I was thinking of something more, like an intermediate dictionary between a pocket and a comprehensive one. Actually, as a pocket dictionary it is pretty nice, the words being perfectly readable... So, your satisfaction will exclusively depend on your private demands and expectations...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
Was extremely annoyed to find that this book is pocket size, with the type being so small as to make the book almost useless. I don't recall seeing any mention of it being pocket size in the description. I would send it back except that I live in the U.S. and don't feel like paying as much in return postage as the book cost me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
The print especially in the irish-english section so thick it renders the text nearly unreadable. Pity as I was given an older copy recently and it is perfect in print, pity about this recent printing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
This is a small dictionary and the small print is difficult to read. The pronunciation is helpful but there are better options available and I will have to buy another one with a larger typeface.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
Arrived very quickly. The type face is small - but then it is a 'pocket' dictionary! The pronunciation is not Donegal, but it does help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2016
Very handy edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here