Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
35
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2013
I've been reading a lot of different leadership books recently and they're so dry and theoretical. Here's a book that not only brings the subject to life and is a gripping read, but also has real practical skills that you can apply to your everyday life.
The best book I've read in years
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Don't buy this if you want stories of daring-do and adventure from Shackleton; it's more civilian management speak about trying to relate tales from the great adventurer to 'lessons in modern management'. Learn from the past, yes, but not in a David Brent style of presentation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
This book is so easy to read and gain the insight from. The story of Shackleton is unbelievably inspirational and uplifting and the lessons we can take from it in relation to management / leadership development are strong. Highly recommnded!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 January 2007
This compelling volume accomplishes the unlikely feat of being both a useful management guide and a suspense-filled page-turner. That's because the book enjoys an unusually rich source of material: a near-deadly Antarctic voyage that everyone survived by dint of the leader's formidable management skills. Margot Morrell and Stephanie Capparrell present a strong case that Sir Ernest Shackleton was indeed a great leader. They mine the journey for the telling details of Shackleton's management style, and include short accounts from modern business leaders who look to Shackleton as an inspiration. We recommend this guide to leaders and would-be leaders who love adventure tales and seek an inspiring take on management from a true master.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
A must for anyone interested in leadership. The book explains what he did, how he did it, and why. And the results. A true hero is dismantled and examined . Very well researched, you get the idea Morrell actually knew him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
An amazing read of the sheer brilliance, bravado, resilience, and courage of Ernest Shackleton, a super motivator and leader extraordinaire who seemed to have a gift of inspiring others in awesome ways.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2004
This is a high quality production of a fascinating story. There are many lessons to be learned from Shackleton's adventure, and this audio programme helps distill those into clear points.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I haven't read this myself, although I was tempted, as it was bought as a Christmas present. One of several requests, I understand my grandson has really enjoyed this inspirational book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2013
I loved the book. Analysed a true story and provided an insight of the thinking mechanics that les to such an achievement in a hash environment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
This is a great little book about an amazing episode in antarctic exploration, with a little bit of management theory-into-practice analysis thrown in. The management element is fairly basic but this is good as it does not overly distract from the story, just punctuates it to make you think about parallels to modern organisational leadership and culure. And the TV mini-series (Kenneth Branagh staring) compliments the book perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)