Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 6 December 2007
Firstly, in my opinion, if you have read heavier than heaven, this probably isn't the book for you. The first half/ three quarters of the book come across as more of a summary of Heavier, with a few side notes thrown in.

When it finally comes to what it says on the tin, the question of who murdered Kurt Cobain, it really doesn't dedicate itself to anything solid, instead opting to tell the story of his death with a few questions and opinions scattered around for good measure.

The authors have clearly done some dirt digging on Courtney Love, and to be fair, do not put everything across as fact, questioning everything they are told. But, and this is an important one, if you are already convinced Love is to blame for his death, this book isn't going to challenge this view, but at the same time wont give you anything new to support this opinion.

There is one point made in this book in reference to the suicide note, this was a genuinely interesting read that I wont ruin, but I wouldn't recommend the book based on this one thing.

So, if you are a die hard fan, and must own this book, it is cheap enough that you wont be disappointed, but if I wouldn't suggest it if you want a genuinely interesting read.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2002
Of all the literature I have read on the death of Kurt Cobain, none have come close to exporing the full mystery behind the death of an icon. Except this book. The reader is first drawn into the world of a young Kurt and several underlying reasons for his state of mind were revealed, and this made the latter stages of the book much easier to comprehend. Every avenue about Kurts death was explored and scientific reports were included to either prove or disprove theories surrounding the case. Key figures were analysed, their background and involvement in the case revealed to the reader. Overall, this is the number one source of information for anyone interested in the mysterious circumstances surrounding the death of Aberdeens most famous son.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2003
A brilliant book with some very disturbing facts as to the "sucide" of kurt. If you are a fan of Nirvana and Kurt buy this book, even if you dont believe the conspiracy it is worth a read just to open your eyes. I wasnt very sure about the conspiracy theory (at least if it was suicide it was what he wanted!) but this book has fairly strong pursuations to suggest that it wasnt suicide. Maybe there is something in the way of solving this once and for all?!
keep the memory alive
xxx
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
I recently read this book & would recommend it to anyone who wants to know what really happened to Kurt Cobain... I found it very informative however quite confusing, it tells all of how he came to be part of Nirvana, how Nirvana became known & all details right up to the time of his death.
I have my views about how Kurt died now although I won't say a word & will leave it to you to make your own mind up.
I'm glad I read this book & the mystery surrounding Kurt Cobains death will continue to confuse me for years to come but at least now I'm not altogether in the dark about what happened.
Buy this book if you have time to sit down & not move because I'll guarantee once you pick this book up you won't want to be parted from it until you have finished it. not only has this book helped me but it's also become a regular topic of conversation wherever I go.
Do yourself a favour if you are a Nirvana fan....BUY THIS BOOK!!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2004
I have have only really been listening to Nirvana for a couple of months now and i read the Nirvana book "Come as You Are the story of Nirvana". It made me want to look more at what made kurt tick and see how he became this great rock hero.
After reading this book which in some cases refers to the book i read before it points out some interesting things that don't seem to add up to the Suicide, but i am still not a hundred 100% sure that there was murdered and i supose we will never really know!
Good Book by all accounts though
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2000
This book tells all the information about Kurt's death and the events surrounding it. You'll walk away with a different view of the tragedy that took place in early April 1994. THIS IS MY SECOND FAVOURITE BOOK ABOUT NIRVANA, BESIDES COME AS YOU ARE, by Michael Azerrad. I borrowed it from the library and read it in less than a day; I loved it so much that I bought it! However, a word to the wise: there is an updated paperback version of the book that was published in April 1999. There are 16 extra pages. Just letting you know. ~umbilicus
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2001
This book is a must for nirvana fans and anyone who thought Kurt cobain's death was very mysterious back in 1994.It certainly made me think! I think the case should be re-opened as this was definately not a sucide. It is a Gripping story as i could not put the book down. An excellent story about Kurt & Courtney and the mysteries surrounding Kurts death. A brilliant story with such a tragic ending!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2003
if you want to read abook on kurts life and the success of nirvana, how they started and the debate over kurt cobains 'suicide' then this is the book to read.
i have four or five books on kurt cobain and this is the one that has stuck in my head,i have found in some cases that the authors of some of the books i have read have either agreed that kurt commited suicide or that he was killed.
even though the title of the book suggests that it is going to make you believe he was murdered there are two points of veiw in it,and it definalty does not make kurt seem innocent in the whole affair with courtney love.
go out and read this book it is well worth it and will make anyone think twice about the polices judgement in celebrity 'suicides'
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Let’s face it, there are plenty of books on the market about the life and times of Kurt Cobain, with some focusing on his music and some focusing on his troubled personal life. This one, however, is a little different – it focuses on Kurt’s death and, in particular, on the theory that a third party was involved. The authors believe that Kurt didn’t commit suicide – it was murder.

Personally, I don’t believe that theory at all, despite the hordes of Nirvana fans who do – most of them suspect Courtney, and I guess they have their reasons. The best thing to do, if you’re interested, is to read this book and to discover the evidence that the authors have gathered, and then to see if you agree with their point of view.

And so in some ways, the book is participatory – by the end of it, you’ll be ready to make your own decision about what happened in that greenhouse, back in 1994. In many ways, if the authors manage to get you to think about it, even if you don’t subscribe to their point of view, then they’ve still done their job.

There are a lot of smaller positives to go with the book, too – the print is fairly large and easy on the eyes, the jacket is pretty cool, and there are even some rare photos of Cobain included inside it. It’s also one of the flagship ‘Kurt Cobain’ books out there, and I should know because I’ve read most of them. A great read for a fan, but maybe not so much if you’re not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2001
I've heard of people who can't put a book down, and never thought I'd find a book like that. Until now. Every page I read made me want to read more. I was a bit sceptical after reading Tom Grants work, but after reading this book all my queries were put to rest. A suicide? I don't think so! But before anyone flames me, read this book first THEN make your decisions
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)