Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 10 July 2015
Not a bad book but when I started reading it it all seemed very familiar. On checking my book shelf it's the same book I already had just with a different tittle and author. Terminal velocity by Steve Devereux. Why are they allowed to do this??
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2017
An excellent written story of Nigel ( Spud ) Ely's life as a member of Britain's Parachute Regiment and elite Special Air Service ( SAS ).

The story leads from his early days, and into the tough training required to pass P company and serve within the ranks of the Parachute Regiment. His experience of the Warrenpoint attack in Northern Ireland, and also the brutal battle at goose green during the Falklands war would deliver enough emotional stress to last a lifetime. However for Spud, he wanted even more. He went on to pass the tough selection course and serve as a elite SAS member. Total respect for this man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2017
Real life in the Para regiment is shown from training to fighting in the Falklands. Gives an interesting insight into the life of an exceptional soldier and his comerades
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2015
It should have four stars for the sheer in-the-face brutal reality of SAS training and fighting, and of how the Falklands war was such a close- run thing and so badly managed by the Navy from the trooper's perspective. It loses a star from the mixed-up chronology with no scene-setting explanations, jumping abruptly through different time periods, and having to deduce from the opening chapter that Nigel Fly was a war correspondent in the 1990s looking back to his army career.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2015
An excellent book written very well by a brave young man. I come from the Outer Hebrides and have done 2 years in South Georgia just south of the Falklands so I can with honesty imagine what these young men suffered when crossing of the Falklands Island in the middle of winter, a great achievement and well done. Every young man should read this book and shows the older generation we still have men who are truly brave and do give their lives for Queen and Country. This is a must read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2015
This is a first class descriptive book of soldiering in modern times. 'He that wealds a sword does not always weald a pen' This author does and with some panache. An excellent read and most certainly difficult to put down, and as a contemporary soldier of his times I missed some of the hard times he had to put up with, he has however left me well briefed on what I missed out on. The book is well worth the five stars that I have given, and I totally recommend it to other readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2017
Quite a readable book, but not one that I couldn't put down, I enjoyed reading it though, and it is written in a good style easy to read, no details about the SF that I have read in some other books, but they have their secrets to keep.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2015
This was more of a diary than a story. It went from one part of his experience to the next but not a real storyline that would have made it easier to read. I try not to give up reading a book but this one came close at times. Nigel Ely could do with revisiting this book and pick out enough of his experiences to make a storyline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2015
I found this a really interesting read - the author really gets you into the action. A pity the ending was a little abrupt and we didn't get a good feel for where his life was likely to head.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2015
Written by an ex para who fought in the Falklands,Northern Ireland, and also spent time in Iraq as a war correspondent with Sky,lots of interesting facts of various encounters,I found very interesting even his basic training, which bought back memories, very good read,hence five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)