Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2000
Druss the Legend. A man feared by all who meet him, and with Good reason. The character of Druss The Legend is just Awesome. A weapon of Destruction. This book is Action from Cover to Cover and is the best fantasy book I have probably ever read, well worth the time and once you have read this you will just have to read the other two Druss the Legend books to learn more of this Dramatic and deadly character.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
The novel itself is great, but as with every other David Gemmell book I've bought for my kindle, somebody hasn't checked through the pages to check for typing errors. Literally half a dozen times in each page there is a mistake; usually a blindingly obvious one. Even the spelling of the hero's name isn't consistent. Sometimes his name is 'Druss' and sometimes 'Dross'. Stupid somebody!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
It's Ok if you like historical fantasy fiction, and in fairness, I think it probably helps if you've read other books in the series. This was the first of David Gemmell's books which I have read, and is probably not the best one to start with. There are a lot of characters, and it's sometimes hard to remember who is who, and why they are fighting whoever it is they are fighting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2010
As I have come to expect from all his books David Gemmell writes with a passion for not just the story but for all his characters as well. Reading this book helped to fill in and explain many of the pieces of information hinted at before it. This is a must read for not only fans of the series but for all fans of fantasy. I would recommend this book highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
I have this book in paperback,but downloaded it onto my Kindle for a holiday read, David Gemmell is my favourite author,from the first page i was in the fantasy world of Druss! The style of writing is so easy to get into and before you know it you are totally submerged in the characters lives,i really could not put this book down!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
As usual with David Gemmell an excellent book, spoilt by persistant spelling mistakes and bad punctuation. Druss being referred to as Dross quite frequently...Skeln being referred to as Skein in the short story...just spoilt my enjoyment a bit...hopefully some proof readers will be employed next time :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
‘The First Chronicles of Druss the Legend’ overcomes some early obstacles to become a gripping read that fills in the background of an iconic figure in fantasy literature. If heroic fantasy is your thing, and you haven’t already given this book a go, then you could do worse than give it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
I am very dissatisfied to have paid full price for an incomplete book. Having read the full version in paperback some time ago. However, as with most David Gemmell books the story and penmanship are excellent. If you haven't read the full version you will still give it five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
It was probably one of the most gripping books i've ever read. And the first book i could not put down, and read in one sitting. Im glad i read it before Legend it added more depth to the main character. It's a must for any SFF reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I'm sure it's a brilliant book but unfortunately I can't read it because it is "Item Under Review". I don't care if there's some formatting issues. There were quite a few in the other books but it didn't affect the readability of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here