Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2017
Well worth a read, I'll be buying the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
This is a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
This one arrived today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2004
This book represents a remarkable achievement, both in the quality of the story telling and the fact that it is just that - one book. In 'The Barbed Coil' JVJones establishes a believable fantasy world, introduces a cast of individual characters and delivers an impressive plot, all within the confines of a single binding. Rare in the world of fantasy writing. I'm not knocking all such trilogies, indeed this author's 'Sword of Shadows' promises to perhaps be the very pinnacle of these, but it's nice to know that our favourite writers are also able to handle the challenge of mapping out an epic tale in a single book.
Unique in JVJones' as yet short list of work (all those who join me in waiting for the much delayed 'Sword from Red Ice' will know this lady does not rush her art) this book includes our own modern world. Jones' stories have all featured a male and a female lead, their lives and aims interlinked but quiet independent. In 'Coil' the female lead is Tessa McCambfre of San Diego who is transported be means of interdimmensional fate to the Harbour City of Bay'Zell located in a world of knife wielding thugs and terrifying magics. You have probably read books with a similar device before, but JVJones' takes on all such Fantasy standards with an original and powerful approach.
'Coil' was written in-between the 'Book of Words' and 'Sword of Shadows' trilogies and this shows. Her style, first seen in 'Words', is developed and achieves a greater individuality but we don't yet see the intensity found in the latest books.
If you have enjoyed Jones's other work and this has slipped you by, then that is a omission well worth redressing. Likewise if you are new to the author and wish to try the writing out without committing to a multi-volume work I recommend this book to you as the being among the highest quality Fantasy writing available.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2002
The Barbed Coil is a stand-alone novel telling the story of Tessa McCamfrey, a young woman from san Diego.
One day, to flee her responsibilities, she takes her yellow Honda Civic and drives without stopping until she comes to a clearing in the Cleveland National Forest. There among the trees are piles of safe deposit boxes, and a intricate, mysterious golden ring. As she puts it on, she's transported into another, exotic world.
More exactly in Bay'Zell, a port city of the province of Rhaize. Bay'Zell is a dangerous place for a young woman on her own and soon she finds herself harassed by two rogues. Fortunately, a piratical but handsone man named Ravis comes to her rescue and decides to take her under his wing.
Quickly she learns more about the continent on which she's just landed: Izgard of Garizon, the bearer of the Coil, is about to invade Rhaize to gain access to the sea. With the help of his monstruous horde of Harras, he's slaughtering all who stand in his path to quench the Barbed Coil's thirst for blood. And so Berick of Thorn, who conquered Garizon fifty years ago, is slain. His son Camron will hire Ravis to get revenge and assassinate Izgard.
Tessa finds herself caught up in these events. Taking refuge in Emith and his mother's cosy cottage, she'll soon realise she also has a part to play. Emith, who was Deveric, the late king's counselor and scribe's devoted assistant before he too was murdered, starts teaching her the art of painting illuminations, as patterns are the catalyst of this world's magic. But his skills are limited, and he sends her to the Annointed Ilse, where his former master Avaccus lives.
The Barbed Coil is a good, fast-paced adventure novel. I was a bit skeptical at first, but as the story flowed, I started to grow fonder of the characters, particularly of Emith and his mother, and of Angeline too, Izgard's courageous young wife. J. V. Jones's elaborate decriptions of the use of pigments and vellums are passionating and the gathering of momentum at the end is most suspenseful. I even caught myself holding my breath as I ploughed through the last pages.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 1999
This is probably one of the best works of Fantasy I have read in years. The entire cast is believeable and you can really associate with them. I missed three stops before I realised it. DON'T read this book on trains. Roll on the next JV Jones book. I can't wait.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2000
This book may not rank as high as the lord of the rings but it is truly a masterpiece. I loved it and have read it time and again. The characters are well presented and come across as real. This book had a plot that gripped you from beginning to end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2009
I have read all Jones' books; I was surprised I had missed this one. I enjoyed it very much. Jones writes with colour and passion, with a fine original sense of plot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2001
Superbly original and wonderfully written, J.V.Jones enthralls and delights. Tessa, Ravis, Camron, Izgard and all the other characters come to life in a magical way, and the illuminations tie them together brilliantly. Best of all, it ends the way it should. A marvelous read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2000
I value fanatsy books that I can read while traveling. This requires an innovative and captivating writing style with a clear meaningful story-line, interesting characters, funny and often unexpected events. I don't like books that are too gloomy, pretend war novels or mere copies of reality. JV Jones meets my criteria for a good fantasy writer. In this book she describes an imaginative and complex but not confusing tale, with a strong female lead, humour, adventure and a new form of magic. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse