Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
200
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2016
Too many sub-plots. Too many characters. Fascinating as always! Another interesting Culture instalment in this amazing, rich universe Banks created.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Whatever pre conceived ideas you might have,and however confident you might be of an eventual outcome,it will be far beyond your expectations,it may even need a second read,a real tour de force!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
The 1st of the Culture series so far, which has actually been mainly about the culture. Galaxy spanning stuff, orbitals, sentient spaceships,drones, aliens, ridiculous weapons, the full works......This book is awesome!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Possibly my favourite book of all time. The humour is outstanding, the arguments between machines, the bickering and plotting, the way they talk about humans, all of it is simply fantastic.
The story is gripping throughout.

This is the book that introduced me to the world that Iain M Banks created and I have since bought every single book in the Culture series.

A must read for science-fiction fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
As always, with Iain M. Banks, the novel's plot is convoluted and complex, and a great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
And another good read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
... but enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Cracking.
Loved this story.
Great inter-ship dialogue.
Great scenario.
Slightly slower inbetweeny human bits. Awesome story, in an awesome universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
This is Iain M Banks at his very best. The scope of imagination, the humour and the characterisation is outstanding. I've read this book four or five times now and it still thrills me even tho I know the story. For me it stands as the pinnacle of all his works. If you've not yet read it I envy you - you are in for a treat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Good Banks standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse