Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
200
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2015
Excellent book but too many characters so got a bit lost from time to time and some chapters seemed unneccassary and drawn out.
That said excellent book but think it needs a second read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Beautifully written. he will be sorely missed. The culture series are stunning, graceful and occasionally brutal. Mr Banks has taken the world of science fiction writing to a whole new level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 1998
Far and away the best Culture novel so far; intricate plotting and highly detailed environments kept me enthralled all the way through. Can't wait to see where the Culture goes next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
With the tragic news that there will be no more Culture novels I re-read this one. Mostly featuring the minds and their outlook it gives a great insight into the culture universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 1998
This is the first culture novel I read, and it prompted me to read every other in under a month, so it can't be all that bad! Nice plot, great characters, wonderful background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed this. If you haven't read one of the Culture novels before, they do require a bit of concentration to follow all the various characters. I like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
Re-read so many times. Geek/Philosophy/Action. The culture's flaws exposed and the total perspective vortex gains another layer. "Metamathical!" - Finn the human
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Mind-blowingly (no pun intended!) marvellous. Funny, intriguing, exciting.

Sometimes I lose track of which Mind is which, but overall it is very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Love this book. Probably my favourite in the series, and one of my favourites generally.

Great for anyone who loves grand space-based action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This is a fantastic Sci-Fi book based on the Culture series. It is very well-written, has some great ideas and keeps you guessing throughout...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse