Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
8
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2002
While being full of useful information, I felt that there was a lot of 'padding' material used to increase the page-count and justify the price. The structure of the book is also rather muddled and I found myself constantly hopping between chapters trying to follow a thread.

Despite this, the checklists of things to do and advice for before, during and after 'the big day' is all extremely useful. The Speech writing guide is excellent and provides solid advice for people that have never written or delivered a speech before (it saved my neck!). The book also covers some of the other roles a Best Man can be asked to carry out, including the conduction of the days events and sorting out any problems.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2003
I bought this book in the hope that it would really help me in writing a great speech, but I was left a bit disappointed.
There's useful background information, and some good ideas, but there's better help out there for best men who want to give a funny and memorable speech.
A friend of mine gave an absolute killer speech the other month, having found a website with loads of lines from real past speeches - thebestmanspeech.com, if I remember. I wish I'd found it too!
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2003
what an excellent book!!!!
its a stark contrast to all the other books i've looked at, it gives you much needed history of bestman duties, and it's implications on your modern duties, read it and you will be impressed!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2007
Unfortunately, this book does not live up to its name. It has a nice introduction that briefly explains the origins of some of the wedding traditions. This was interesting, but not really what you want the book for. Especially as the author goes on to warn you about not showing off this knowledge in your speech!

The check list of duties is long, too long I think. The best, best-man that the author advocates seems far too pushy and nosey, always getting involved in everything. Nowadays, the bride and groom sort out most of the stuff he mentions. The best advice the author gives here is actually to ask the groom what he wants doing.

When the book eventually gets to the speech bit, which is what we all want, again the advice is not terribly helpful. The pointers on public speaking amount to relaxing and breathing, which we all know anyway.

The advice on structuring the speech is standard stuff and nothing that common sense or a quick google could not produce. The same goes for researching the speech.

The book is also quite repetitive, especially on the subject of getting drunk (DON'T we are told, over and over). Flatter the bride, don't insult anyone, don't be rude, don't talk about ex-girlfriends... over and over.

The final 72 pages are dedicated to sample anecdotes, jokes, sayings, speeches, and a chapter on mixed religion weddings. That is two-fifths of the book. Which would be fine if the examples were any good, but they are not. The anecdotes are irrelevant, the jokes not funny, the sayings available from any quotation book/website, the sample speeches uninspiring (one of them is an speech example for female best men!) and the chapter on etiquette at mixed religion weddings too specialised for this general book (and, I suspect, too general for anyone actually interested in the topic).

As one of the other reviews said, thebestmanspeech.com is far more useful in that it gives you a ton of decent examples and costs about the same as this book to access.

The author likes to remind the reader that 'he has probably won more speech contests that anyone in Britain and Ireland'. He should stick to speaking and avoid writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2006
A really interesting introduction to where all the tradition of weddings came from, and then some v good content; only "the complete best man was better" but I would say both as they take slightly different approaches and so are complimentary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
Bought this for my son's best man, who was agonising over his speech. There are a raft of anecdotes in the text, and I gather the book made things easier for him. The day went well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
for the price paid book was just about adequate.A very basic guideline to the duties and even more basic concerning the speech and it,s content
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Excellent, it was a interesting read,and exactly what i was looking for,item was good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)