Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
129
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio Cassette|Change
Price:£10.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 February 2017
This was bought as a Xmas present for my friend who is very interested in the history of London. He has told me that the book is extremely interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2017
This is a must have for all geeks on London history, looks daunting because of the size but so well written it is a pleasure to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
I love this book I tend to dip in and out of it xx so full of interesting facts would highly recommend this book xx Peter Ackroyd is a great writer x
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
A masterpiece of writing which both encompasses a vast historical period, yet also includes much detail. I bought it for some very specific research on the history of pub music I'm engaged in, but ended up reading much, much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 September 2014
Great to dip in and out of. Dazzling cornucopia. But you wouldn't want to have to carry it too far. Kindle edition would be more convenient but this is a book you want to jump around in and feel the weight of ... a good example of why ebooks can be the poor relation!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
A superb book. It's not possible to find enough superlatives to describe Peter Ackroyd's achievement here. Buy it and relish it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Bought as a gift, so cannot comment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
A great book, but I'm still reading it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Huge book which l am still reading. Thoroughly enjoyable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
A cross between the well researched academic tome and the light history survey. Organised into thematic, short easily accessed chapters. Highly worth reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)