Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2017
Anne D’Alleva defines theory as “the process of formulating research questions” and methodology as “the process of trying to answer these questions”. She asserts that methods and theories have changed art history as an academic discipline enormously over the past twenty years. Having been a student in the heyday of Wölfflin’s and Panofsky’s influence decades ago I cannot but agree with her. I must admit that I feel like someone from a lost generation when I try to embark on theories like semiotics, structuralism and other more recent theories. Nevertheless I have tried to grasp the basics of these theories. Whatever I may have achieved it must be thanks to D’Alleva’s mastery of the subject and her ability to convey her knowledge to the reader. But be warned: If you want to achieve something from the reading of this book you should be aware of D’Alleva’s advice: Follow the so called SQ3R process (Survey, Question, Read, Recite and Review). And keep the book at hand to delve into when necessary for your research.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Pristine quality & fast delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
Have no complaints price was right and arrived on time. Just have to get round to reading it, sure it will live up to all it's expectations.
cassy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Very useful to get to grips with various methodologies and particularly useful if you are new to this as I am.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
This is a very precise book on artists can be heavy going at times but it is mainly a research book after all it does cover lots of things so will be invaluable for students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2016
This is a fantastic book for any art student. Just starting a module at OU about modern art of 20th century and this is the best background you could have to any art course, undergraduate or otherwise. I shall be looking out for more publications by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Extensive and wide ranging debates, which extend one's thinking, through a straightforward approach, but one which resonates with complex depths.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
There is no need to advertise this book. The author is an eminent content expert and an experienced teacher with a very modern approach to the subject matter. I've lost my previous copy of this book (as there were many people willing to read it but the last one was not so willing to get it back to me) and I didn't wait a single day to order another one. Anne D'Alleva is my guru of art history!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
This book is useful if you are an undergraduate or postgraduate in art History. It is very clearly written and helps sign post you in the right direction. I would recommend this to anyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)