Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 18 August 2017
Hopefully a useful book for my OU studies - nice paper and printing quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2016
Very helpful! Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
same as before
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2017
Some time ago I read Anne D’Allevas Methods & Theories of Art History and was quite impressed by her knowledge and her ability to convey difficult theories and methods to the reader in a simple and understandable way. Hence, I also bought How to Write Art History in order to pick up more about what D’Alleva had to say about her profession.
For art students, How to Write Art History must be a treasure trove. Here they will learn the tools of the trade that will make them pass their exams – and perhaps with good marks too. As for myself being a pensioner I really enjoyed reading the chapters about formal analysis, art and context and art history’s own history. For me this reading constituted a welcome and necessary repetition of old knowledge. The chapters dealing with writing of essays and papers I mostly browsed through, but I will return to them later to read many paragraphs more closely when it is my turn to write about art in one way or other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Bought this as a recommendation together with The Story of Art (Gombrich), excellent deal, bought it for my daughter who is doing History of Art A-level, 2 happy customers!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Clear and concise excellent book for all students. Easy to read with minimal jargon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
This is a lovely clear explaination and introduction to the process of writing art history, including essay writing, critical approaches and searching literature.
I found it very helpful and think it would be a good starting point as an art history course study guide.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2017
a good book to help with studies
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)