Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
40
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
33
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2015
If your a home sewer or fashion student or just love fabrics then you need this book it's packed full with different swatches of fabrics I bought it because I buy material online and I needed a good reference book it's guided me in what fabrics work well how they drape hang great book
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
A must have for being able to name your fabrics and learn what is what ... a great present for a young person studying fashion as well as an older person studying personal styling ... an expensive book but not when you consider the work that has gone in to making it... it's worth it. Contains loads and loads of little samples of material... lovely to read and feel!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Would be particularly useful for textile students - covers natural fabrics versus man made. Explains the process of manufacture of each type very well. A bit bland to look at, because they have opted to sample the natural predyed version of fabrics, but very helpful to demonstrate a type of fabric. Good size samples. Would have liked envelope type pages at the back to add in your own fabrics that are not covered, to build an even larger resource. Great buy at the Amazon price.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
When it comes to understanding textiles, touching and feeling the material is everything. When the book talks about the material and its properties, having a sample right there, touch and feel it. Your brain connects all the dots. It has very good coverage on natural and man made textiles as well woven and non woven. Every time I come across a fabric that I felt I wish there is a sample, I refer to this book. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
A hugely useful book not only explaining the characteristics and source of fabrics, but containing small swatches of the materials covered. There is a heavy emphasis on quality, natural fabrics such as wool, silk and cotton and personally I would have found it useful to have some more swatches of cheaper, synthetic fabrics. I am, however, glad I bought it and would recommend it to others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2012
This is a great product, currently on a fashion course so it's just what I needed. I was waiting for someone to bring out a book explaining fabrics with swatches so you could learn the textures and qualities of different fabrics and I finally found one!
If you want to learn about fabrics this book is fab.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
Really good for beginners and to have swatches of basic fabrics. Obviously there are SO many fabrics out there so it wouldnt be possible to have swatches of all of them. It is a companion for the Fabric for Fashion Complete Guide.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a great book. Really helpful as you can see and feel the fabrics, which helps to understand their uses and difference.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Nice book but expensive. Contains actual fabric swatches but these detach over time with use/ Great if you are a fashion student but otherwise buy the Fabric Selector Book by Diana Willard
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
I bought this along with the Fabric for Fashion book. What a fantastic combination. I can now be much more confident when choosing fabrics based on sewing pattern recommendations. I didn't even know what a lot of them were before - challis, charmeuse, eyelet, etc????
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)