Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 14 April 2017
The short chapters with visual aids and clear yet informative writing style make this a perfect introduction to the topic of semiotics and symbolism. There are also a few optional exercises to help keep the reader engaged as the focus changes from semantic symbolism to pictorial with examples that draw on art, decor, architecture and literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
It seems more aimed at someone setting out in Media Studies, to get them to break from their conventional way of looking at, and thinking of things, rather than a treatise on semiotics. I worried about its provenance when in the author/printers couldn't spell the name of the famous philosopher/semioticist Charles Sanders Peirce correctly.

The book has no index, just a contents page, a reasonable bibliography and contains about 40% text and 60% pictures that take up whole pages of copious examples plus half a page of explanation on the verso for each. It's a style but unfortunately not mine. It could be condensed to about 100 pages with ease - or more preferably filled out with more substance on semiotics.

Simply not worth the money. The sign on the front is most appropriate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
This is a very useful book for understanding the basic theory of semiotics, especially for the dyslexic student who can often struggle with the highly academic style in which this theory is often presented.

It models the practice of applying semiotics in a very accessible and visual way, this makes it invaluable for learning how to use semiotic analysis in different contexts on courses within the visual arts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2012
When I was briefed that I had to write about semiotics as part of the Visual Communication module of my photography HNC, I was lost until I found this book. Its brilliant. It provided me with all the information and understanding I needed to get a grasp of hidden meanings and codes in imagery. I'm now looking to find and create them all the time. I have seen books before written by senior university lecturers, written in a language that is enough to send you to sleep after a couple of pages, but this book is not one of those. It flows, it is interesting, it is entertaining and you want to turn the page. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
This Means This, This Means That: A User's Guide to Semiotics is a fantastic, well-writen, and, in some places, rather funny book. It is easily accessible and doesn't go on forever. It describes 75 semiotic concepts in great detail and is a must for people with a newly found interest in the subject.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
As the owner of a design agency, I find myself having to spend more of my time encouraging and nurturing the younger generation. This type of work goes a long way in helping to explain what the job of a proper designer really is all about. It leads you into discovering the subconscious and giving an insight into how things can be interpreted in different ways. If you're interest in understanding and changing the way people think it's a must buy.

All good designers should have this book in their reference library.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
I am a graphic designer and I have to say that this book doesnt add much to my knowledge and expertise in signs and visual language. It is terrificly technical and niche.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
this book is clear and easy to read for those, like me, that are new to semiotics and simply want to know what it's all about. it also has lots of helpful pictures and questions to think about. it was just what I was looking for!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
I bought this book to aid my first year Alevel students through understanding semiotics. i have plenty of other books on the subject of semiotics iconography and so on, but none that offers explainations and understanding as this publication. not a heavey book to engage with and easily understandable even for the teacher lol. brilliant! this book offers a clear insight with use of good imagery and illustration and clarity. not exactly designed for degree level study, but great for alevel and gcse i would recommend this publication for the above reasons.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
This book is very helpful and easy to understand. It explains everything easily and in a way that is interesting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse