Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more



on 6 June 2013
This book has some great ideas; the crab and hammer party, glow in the dark jellies and getting guests to make their own butter but is also a bit of a cheat by taking up pages to discuss slicing a whole Parma ham joint (something very few of us will ever have!) and cooking ready made dimsum from a packet. A little self indulgent on the part of the author but some eyebrow raising ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
What a fantastic book! This is no ordinary run of the mill cook book so if that is what you are after turn away now (no, please don't i promise you will LOVE this!). This contain lots of great ideas for making your dinner parties that little more special - getting guests to interact during the meal, creating dishes that are visually amazing to promote coversation, and basically getting host and guests to enjoy and have fun with food!

Some ideas in here are simple and require no cooking skills at all (squashing a sandwich by sitting on it for example) but there are also more complicated recipes for those who are a little more adventurous or want to branch out.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who entertains; it is also visually attractive and entertaining to read so will make a fantastic gift.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
This is a great book for very creative recipies. I need it a few ideas to spice up my Christmas meal and the book became very handy. Very easy to make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
Lots of fun ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
A very dated book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
This really is THE book for your friends and family this Christmas, mind you , why wait until Christmas. If you are the type of person who is nervous about having a dinner party, or someone who wants people to have fun when they come to your s for lunch, or if you are a budding chef but need some ispiration, THIS is The Book For You... it is brilliantly written, with whit and charm, the pictures are inspiring and the design keeps us all in place. Top tip - buy in bulk - once you've received it you want want to give it away....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
I don't usually write reviews but I just love this book - it's the gift that keeps on giving. It's funny, useful and interesting (not to mention beautiful). So many great ideas for meals - it's now my secret weapon for a great dinner party. It's completely unlike any of the usual run of the mill cookbooks with your obvious recipes. The ideas are mental but doable. It is truly brilliant!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2010
Move over showing off to your friends with your latest wizzery from standard cookbooks - with this wonderful book from mr gates you can transform the meal to involve your guests in the preparation, making every meal a more memorable and fun occasion. Smash (&) crabs, sushi, table top cooking and much more. on my christmas list (the one to give away to people i want to enjoy their presents)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
Tis book is a refreshing change in the regurgitated world of recipe books. Who really wants another recipe for shepherds pie? I want to smash crabs with hammers and make soup bowls from old action figures. Stefan's enthusiasm and fun around food comes bursting though on the page. This is a brilliant book and whilst at first glance you might think the recipes are far fetched, on closer inspection you'll see that there are a wealth of useable, everyday and time friendly recipes amongst the lunacy. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2010
I was looking for a new and different book and bought this because my girls loved Gastronuts, some of the recipes and ideas are a dinner party with entertainment all in one, not quite signed up to the face mask and snorkel just yet;-)
This book is not even going onto the shelf, the ideas, recipes and pictures are so great it's become a " coffee table " book which visitors just can't help picking up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Gastronaut
£11.32

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)