Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

  • Cook
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2010
Both my wife and I have attended courses at the Bertinet Cookery School in Bath and, both having had such a good time, we were bound to buy this book. The format is very simple. Richard has itemised the most common questions he is asked during cookery classes and provides concise answers alongside recipes for some classic dishes. There is a good DVD included that shows the man himself in a very relaxed, informal but so informative way that you get swept away by his innate enthusiasm and obvious skill.
This is not just another cookery book, but a useful addition to any cooks library.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2010
We have recently received a copy of this book and have to say it is fantastic. Initially I thought it looked much more wordy than some of my other books but that is because it is full of very useful and interesting bits of info which not only tell you what to do, but why you are doing it (and how to rectify if you make a hash of it, haven't got all the ingreds etc!). I have made the fish pie, which was quite different from other recipes I have followed (e.g. adding wine to the roux before the milk in order to get a super smooth bechamel - it works) - the recipe was easy to follow and results were delicious - I will be rolling this out for all forseeable guests! Have also made a successful carbonara. The best bit, however, of having this book is that it has encouraged my husband (whose repertoire normally extends only to pancakes and "scramblers")to cook - he has turned out a fantastic smoked haddock chowder and a smoked salmon and rocket pasta dish and is threatening to do more - yippee! Really good book that makes it seem pretty easy to turn out delicious and stylish dishes for the family and guests.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
The best cookery book I have bought for quite a time. Very clear instructions and helpful advice, which is delivered in a totally unpatronising way. Particularly useful if you in fact have some knowledge but a lack of confidence, and if you are a beginner, it will give you confidence. To my mind a great improvement on Delia Smith, who caters to the same type of audience, but whose recipes are duller and delivered with a certain smugness. The recipes cater for a broad range of tastes.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2010
I bought this purely on my experience of Richards other book on bread called Dough. I was really pleased that when it arrived the quality was just as good. Apart from a collection of very appealling receipes it also includes excellent instruction on both technique and methods of cooking that is useful to both the beginner and more experienced home amatuer cook. This extra guidance gives me the confidence to try more advanced dishes and so far they have turned out perfect.

I'd recommend that you make sure you get the book with the free DVD which includes actual demonstratio of some of the receipes.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2010
One of the good things about this book is that Richard lists the prep.that you need to do so that when you start to make the dish there are no delays causing problems like having the oil burn whilst you hastely chop three onions. Great book well thought out and tasty recipes. R.Bertinet is a talented teacher and this comes through in his writing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
As with Dough and Crust, Richard has produced another book of outstanding quality. This is bound to be a book that is referenced for its techniques. Watching the DVD that accompanies the book is like having your own Master Class with one of the top Chefs in the country. Fantastic, everyone should have this book on their kitchen shelf.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2012
I found this book very useful in my kitchen. The recipes are precise and I was always succesfull. The mayo recipe is the best I've tried!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2010
Nice book with great recipes.. in line with the previous work published by the author. the accompanying CD is a great adding with good tips. few recipes e.g spaghetti cucumber salad are surprisingly simple, healthy and delicious !
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Good book, very clear instructions, really caters for the home cook.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
excellent book - i recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse