Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 9 August 2017
I have bought it before wanting to set up a garden, however from reading through, it covers the concepts of designing in great detail. Whereas other books tell you principles of permaculture and which plants go here or there. what the designs could look like. This book is all about how to design your garden.
Such a great guide for those like me who will be starting from scratch with no design background
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2017
I find this book very well written and explains permaculture well. As someone who previously knew very little. I'm looking forward to taking the book onto my plot and putting these ideas into practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2017
Great book. Quite technical but full of great info and Aranya (who I had the pleasure of being taught my PDC by) is superbly clever and sets out a permaculture project in easy sensible logical steps. This is Def one for the jacket pocket while designing small or large projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2017
This book disappointed me there isn't much to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2015
Very much like what I've read so far
Will need a month or two of dipping into
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2015
wonderful book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2013
Seemed a very good overview to me. I'm beginning to learn about this area, so not an expert yet, but would recommend it as worthwhile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2016
Very useful for my Permaculture design course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2012
First of all, it's a fun book to read; easy format, font and language usage (especially for someone who's mother tongue isn't English).

The book is more about general Design rules and how to teach designers to become teachers themselves, applied on Permaculture.
Don't expect him to hold your hands via the book, you have to grow as a person by reading this and make your own decisions.

Anyone who is interested in broadening their mind on gardening and the design thinking that goes behind it should read this book.

The only down point is a lack of in-depth information, raw data examples for instance but this would make the book a lot bigger and uncomfortable to carry around.

Enjoy reading it! I had a blast.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
So very disappointing :( I followed Aranya's original blog and then the first website many years ago and learned a great deal at the time. I also lived near to the Sustainability Center, so luckily have a pretty good knowledge of what permaculture is all about.
I recently moved and have limited internet, so bought Aranya's book, expecting the same information, pictures guides and in-depth details of zones and how to create and use them. The original blog had great tips for recycling, lots of clear photos of projects and lovely ideas on how to maximise space with things like the herb spiral. None of this was included in the book, just a lot of waffle.
Unfortunately, this book seems aimed at working for a client base rather than permaculture for your own life changes. Part of the book, especially the section on preparing a guide for a client, left me baffled and disheartened.
The passages are overly long the diagrams are too small to be of any use and there just seems to be a lack of direction to this book.
Unless you have a good knowledge of permaculture, be prepared to feel bewildered.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)