Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 25 November 2013
My third ISO9000 handbook by this author over my years as a Quality Manager/Director (more years than I care to mention. Let's just say I started in Quality before BS5750 came out....). An invaluable source of practical advice and guidance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2014
Bought this to help with my final year thesis. Very boring and drab. A lot of essential information on the subject contained, and really helped with my project.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2013
Good as a reference work, but you can't read it.

I'll leave this one on the shelf unless I need to check a particular point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2009
I've always been wary of books with ISO9000 or ISO9001 in their title as they often end up being a guide on how to get certified with the minimum of fuss. Users of such books will often obtain an ISO9001 certificate for their company - but at what cost to the overall business? In David Hoyle's guide to the ISO9000 family of standards, he includes the inevitable content on what is required to comply with ISO9001, but readers are left in no doubt that it should not be taken in isolation.

In this, the sixth edition of his book, David Hoyle's taken the opportunity of a relatively minor change to ISO9001 (from the 2000 to 2008 version) to conduct a major overhaul to the structure of his guidance. He writes at length on many of the misunderstandings and pitfalls present in seeing ISO9001 as the Holy Grail of management systems. When, in the latter half of this weighty tome, he gets down to guidance on complying with the standard he offers no quick fixes - users of this book are in real danger of developing management systems that actually help to improve their business!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2005
The ISO 9000 Quality Systems Handbook (Nov. 15, 2001) is an in-depth presentation of the requirements of the ISO 9001:2000 standard. I purchased (and read) five other books that offered an interpretation of the standard, and all were brief and incomplete by comparison.
"What on earth do they mean by that?" is the most common statement that people make when working with the ISO standard. This book presents each requirement in the standard and then tells, 1.) What it means, 2.) Why it is necessary, and 3.) How it is implemented. The explanation is complete and easily understood by anyone. A product like this is what is needed to understand what to do, and how to go about doing it when working with the ISO 9001:2000 standard. Companies transitioning to the new standard are assisted with a comparison of requirements to the prior standard.
This book was recommended to me by an ISO 9000 registrar auditor who stated that it is being used as part of the training for their own auditors. I am a writer of ISO 9001 auditor training materials. To prepare my own product, I found it necessary to read what was available in the marketplace that explained the requirements of the ISO 9001:2000 standard. I believe that this is the most comprehensive and best product available. I highly suggest this book to anyone who will be working with the ISO 9001:2000 standard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2005
I bought this great book which is delivered by a great quality management professional in August 2002 and since then, it has never left my office. As a quality management practitioner I have found this book to be very useful and very informative. It is more than ISO 9000 whereas its first 2 chapters are about the principles of quality management that each and every quality practitioner should be aware of to gain consolidated understanding of the concepts underlying the ISO 9001 requirements to ensure correct implementation and application in real life cases.
Each and every clause of the international standard is explained via answers to 3 questions "what does this mean? Why is this necessary? and how is this implemented?" and in the answers to the last question Mr. David Hoyle kept his precious pearls which he gained from his clearly wide experience.
If you are serious about understanding ISO 9001 and want to implement it correctly to gain real business benefits from it THIS IS A MUST for you. I highly recommend this book as well as all of David Hoyle and John Thompson's products which can be found in their own website "[...]".
Believe me they will never disappoint you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 1999
A useful book to be on the shelf of a Quality manager. It can be a little wordy at times, but is written to be of actual practical assistance, rather than just focussing on the standard itself. I would recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2001
I was first introduced to David Hoyle back in 1994 with his first ISO 9000 Quality System Handbook, I found the book so well written that I had no problem understanding what was required to implement a Quality Management System that would give results. Yes, when the third edition came out in 1998, I obtained a copy, and I was not disappointed, the third edition explained the new requirement in a language I could understand.
Then in 1999 it all changed again with the new version of ISO 9000:2000. The 20 elements having been swept aside, to be replaced with 5 sections. We have moved from the procedure to the process approach to quality management.
In October 2000 David Hoyal released his fourth edition of ISO 9000 Quality System Handbook. The book details the 5 sections so well that you cannot but understand what is required of the new standard. Within each clause of each section there is a an explanation of what it means, why it is necessary and how it is implemented. Each section ends with a summary, Questionnaire and a food for thought page.
Anybody who is serious about implementing ISO 9000:2000 should have a copy at hand, I have only had mine since October and is already well thumped. A must, for all quality professionals.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2009
This is a practical, realistic assessment of what any manager needs to understand to avoid the pitfalls encountered by the (many) organisations which have found that ISO9001 has not achieved its objectives - or perhaps which have not set themselves constructive goals when designing their own management system.

The book sets its own standard (which could usefully be adopted by those who wrote the international standard itself) by responding to feedback from readers and adding sections to address topics in the standard and recent developments on management thinking which are known to have caused difficulty.

It explains a number of the flawed approaches to implementation of ISO9001 and highlights, challenges and clarifies fundamental weaknesses in a number of the standard's definitions and the way in which they are used.

These include essential, but often misunderstood, concepts such as "preventive action" and "business process", as well as "the process approach", the "model of a process-based system" and "systems thinking". It also offers useful advice on areas such as the involvement of people and the related human factors which are an essential part of any manager's role.

The author continually emphasises the importance of clarifying and meeting objectives, whether at the business level or for an individual process. The book provides an accessible and very usable reference guide for management whether or not ISO9001 certification is the goal. It addresses those factors which can affect good process design and system management and puts them in the context of standards compliance for those organisations which choose to follow that route.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2009
David Hoyle's latest update to the ISO9000 Handbook continues to be one of the most comprehensive coverage's of the world's most important quality standard ISO9001 Quality Management System. The growth of globalization would not be possible without the standard and this book is essential reading and reference for everyone from top management to the quality engineer to improve their understanding, application and improvement of their own quality management system.

The latest version has been considerably extended and now includes the important aspect human or people aspects not commonly found in other books on this subject and now being addressed by the ISOTC176 committee in a new standard `The People Aspects of Quality'.

The basic structure is easy to follow, helpful to the reader and practitioner and of use to the researcher. Its a combination of theory, practice and application making it almost unique in its coverage among books on this subject.

This book is more than a review and outline of the standard. Its focus is more on the importance of Quality Management using the standard as a template and maximisation improvement by its application.

David Hoyle has the passion on the subject to challenge the theory, fundamental and vocabulary with the members of the ISOTC176 drafting committees. This enables him to go behind the core requirement and offer the reader the though process and his elegant solutions on how they can maximise value to their enterprise implementing the standard and how to apply the standard to their enterprise and add value.

David Hoyle's revision is very well written, thoroughly researched, well documented with diagrams and provides a very informative presentation on the current standard. It provides a comprehensive view of the critical factors that make the standard successful in implementing quality management. Each chapter quickly gets to the heart of the topic at hand, illustrating diagrammatically the points he is trying to make.

The chapter comparing the standard with other models will be useful to readers intending to move forward to an excellence model and want to identify the differences to requirements. The book does miss the original Deming Excellence model used in Japan.
The book has a passion for detail examination of the essence of quality management like in the chapter 7 detailed critiques of the systems approach and the important relationship between the system and quality performance. Chapter 8 critique of the process approach will help the many who struggle to understand what is meant and help them in the quality plan stage. The chapter on Continual Improvement will help those enterprises struggling to define CI in their business and case study should help explain ways for them practice and be able to demonstrate the system.

The book, at time probably provides too much information about the implementation of the ISO9001 standard so it is not a book for cover by cover reading but its rightful place as the number 1 reference book on the subject.

David Hoyle has written the bible on the world's most widely known quality standard. For such a dry subject he has made it entertaining. For many readers it will increase their knowledge, for many auditors improve their performance. For many CEOs it may convince them there is value in assessment and approval to the standard and that Quality Management rigorously implemented is an essential element of the survival processes

Tony Brown
Director of Quality (retd) BAE SYSTEMS
UK Expert to ISOTC176 and ISOTC69
Chair CQI SDG
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)