Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2011
I am an Electrical Installation lecturer and obtained a copy of this book for guidance with examples to deliver to students.
Much to my disbelief, I found numerous exercises to be incorrect. Things like incorrect terminology or just outright skipping of certain essential steps (for example, they have forgotten to add R1&R2 to Ze to work out Zs, and just went ahead and used R1&R2 to work out the fault current).
Mistakes like this are unforgivable, this is why these books are proof read in the first place.

So I have ammended my copy of this book so that I can still use it. However, much to my surprise, I came across a copy of the previous edition (pre 17th) and was amazed to find ALL of the given examples were the same, the only update is changing the voltages from 240V to 230V.

ALL of the previous in-corrections were there and have simply just been reprinted to make more money. This book should be pulled and corrected or scrapped all together.

I always considered the name Chris Kitcher in the same high regard as Brian Scaddan, but this severely damaged his reputation as far as I am concerned.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2016
The calculations in the book are easy to follow with my calculator and it's been a great help.Loads of exercises with plenty of practice questions to have a go at.I'm so happy that I've got this book.These are excellent reference books for anyone working in or studying the Electrical Installation industry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
This book is full of errors, so much so that one instantly loses any faith in it. Very dissaponting, especially as Christopher Kitcher is normally associated with such excellent publications. His "Practical Guide To Inspection And Testing" is a brilliant book. For anyone undertaking a Level 3 course then I would certainly not recommend this book, it only serves to confuse until you realise that numerous example calculations are just clearly wrong .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
This book claims to be 'advanced'. Sorry but it isn't. It's covers basic electricians calculations for current capacity, volt drop etc but if you are looking for stuff on subjects like; Let through energy, Temperature correction, Discrimination, Inrush currents, Adiabatic equations, Harmonic currents and Harmonic distortion, forget it, use the IEE Electrical Design Guide instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
This is the big sister to the level 2 book.

Electrical Installation Calculations: Basic: For Technical Certificate Level 2 Basic

Both books have been rewritten with a nice clear layout, clear explanations and loads of questions to test your learning. Sections on vectors and lighting calculations especially good.

Excellent formulae book for anyone studying level 3 electrical installation science.Definitely one for the technical library.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
This book has helped me to work through and understand advanced electrical calculations. Plenty of examples to work through. The theory is explained well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
The game board forms a maze built of both fixed and moving pieces. The players rearrange the maze to their advantage by moving a row of pieces in turn. Each player has one token, which they move in the maze. The player's goal is to collect treasures in the labyrinth and then return to their own starting position. The treasures appear in the cards that are dealt to the players in the beginning of the game.
The player is allowed to see only the card that shows his current destination. The player has to reveal the card when he has reached the destination, and take a new card from his pile. The other players notice when the pile is empty, and then usually try to prevent the leading player from returning to the starting position. Advanced players also try to guess other players' destinations in order to make their proceeding more difficult or try to trap them in dead ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2009
The word Maths can strike terror into the heart of many a student and these books use simple language and steps to help the reader understand the maths that is used within electrical installations. This may be the Eighth edition and you may wonder how maths can change over the years. However with the introduction and use of calculators these books now help the reader not only to carry out the calculations but how to use a calculator to achieve the end result, a tool that wasn't available for the first edition! The books have also been updated so that references to the wiring regulations are current. The books are well laid out, very simple to read and contains numerous worked examples and practice calculations. These are excellent reference books for anyone working in or studying the Electrical Installation industry
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I, like another reviewer, teach Electrical Installation. I am enraged that this book is littered with so many mistakes. I purchased the book back in the early 1990's to help me with my College work. I found it confusing. I now find it bemusing that it is still in print, albeit with another author tagged on. This is trash.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
I think this book (and its companion) are invaluable. There's plenty of clear, understandable explanations of the maths involved for each topic, and then there's a set of questions at the end of each section. These questions really make you think by having to rearrange formulae and figure out exactly what's being asked. And some of the questions in each section are pleasingly challenging. So what's the problem with the book then?
Well, just like the 'Basic' edition, the only downfall for this book is in the Answers! It's fine to check that all your own answers are correct, but if you've got one wrong there's nothing to show WHERE you went wrong. All it would take is for the working out of the answers to be shown as well. After all, that's often what's required of the student in exams. It was evident that in the 'Basic' edition, many of the answers in the book were actually WRONG (or the questions/answers misprinted), which made things infuriating when it came to trying to see why answers didn't match up. At least this 'Advanced' edition doesn't seem to be suffering from wrong answers, but as the subjects are more advanced then so the need for explanations in the Answers section is even greater.
My other complaint...! There are questions which have no answers given at all. In Exercise 4 Question 11, we are asked, "What is the function of an inductor in an alternating-current circuit?"... A maths question is then given, followed by, "What would be the general effect on the current if the frequency of the supply were increased?" The answer to the maths part is given, but the other two questions are completely ignored! A brief answer/explanation would have been appreciated.
For the most part, this book is a brilliant aid to giving clarity to the maths involved. It also has excellent questions at varying levels to help the student work through the maths.
It is just let down completely by failing to help when the student DOES have a problem with one of the questions.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)