Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 September 2017
One of the best cook books I purchased. Great for beginners - explains a lot
Personally I love Jamie's cooking
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2016
My daughter in law wanted this and she is delighted with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Present was well received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Great product, highly recommend and will buy again. Impressed with product. Delivery was speedy and excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
This book allows you to do exactly what the title says: cook with Jamie. As opposed to other reviewers, I didn't look at this book as my chance to get into the world of cookery and become the greatest chef in the universe. For me, it is a book to open and flip through when I want to try something new, or when I am too busy to come up with a dish myself. The introduction to the book and those of each chapter are fun and informative, so it's also a good book to get some basic theory out of if you have some extra time to spend reading up on basics. In short, this book will not make you into Jamie Oliver, but what it will do is provide a rich supply of fun, exciting, and delicious meals to prepare at home without too much fussing. We love it use it regularly (together with Jamie's app and website).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2006
'Welcome to my 7th book...
In a way I feel this should have been my first cookbook, where I take you on a journey through the basics of food, shopping and cooking with great ingredients, a bit like the Fifteen students when they start on day one of their course...
Whether you've cooked before, or it's your first time, I wanted to give you a smidgeon of our 'Fifteen' cookery course.'

Jamie goes on to say: 'it's the biggest book I've ever done', and that is no understatement ~ it is a weighty tome of 447 high quality pages making it a little on the heavy side for bedtime reading!

Complete with braid fabric bookmark, this chunky book is split over main chapters:

1. Salads
2. Pasta, Gnocchi and Risotto
3. Meat
4. Fish
5. Vegetables
6. Desserts

along with an intro, 'thanks', a section entitled 'Bits and Bobs' (safety, freezing, chopping techniques, herbs & spices) and a full index, with vegetarian recipes clearly indicated.

Each chapter opens with helpful notes about the subject, e.g.:

♦ 'Salads' includes 'What makes up a salad?', understanding flavours with recipes for barious dressings and mayonnaise.
♦ 'Pasta' includes a guide to making your own.
♦ 'Gnocchi' - literally means 'lumps' in Italian, and there are a few different ways of making them'.
♦ 'Risotto' includes a basic recipe.
♦ 'Meat' includes notes: 'All About Meat' & how to be a better meat shopper, how to cook it and there are useful two-page spreads showing the different cuts of beef, lamb, pork and chicken, including cute black and white drawings of each animal. Then follow some other meats that Jamie loves - duck, rabbit & turkey
♦ 'Fish' includes notes on types, flat and round, how to be a better fish shopper, cooking filleted fish, cooking whole fish, scallops, mussels and clams, prawns, crab, lobster (inc. how to prepare a live one) & squid.

Each recipe is clearly laid out with an opening note, the number of servings, the list/s of ingredients & method, with an illustration of the finished product.

A small taste of the other recipes contained within:

* My Favourite Coleslaw
* Jools' Favourite Saturday Afternoon Pasta
* Macaroni Cheese (a twist on the old-school frumpy Anglicised dish)
* Fantastic Fish Lasagne
* The Best Stew with Potato and Rocket Pasta Cushions
* Asparagus, Mint and Lemon Risotto
* Melt-in-your mouth Shin Stew
* Overnight Slow Roasted Pork
* The Best Roast Turkey
* Perfectly Cooked Crispy Duck with Spiced Plum Chutney
* Poached Salmon Steak
* Steamed Thai-style Sea Bass and Rice
* Whole Fish baked in a Salt Crust
* Prawn Cocktail (tweaked!)
* Southern Indian Crab Curry
* Scotch Stovies
* Slow Cooked Leek Soldiers with Bacon
* The Best Onion Gratin
* Whole Baked Cauliflower with Tomato and Olive Sauce
* Classic Victoria Sponge with all the trimmings
* Tea Party Fairy Cakes
* My Nan's Lemon Drizzle Cake
* Basic Meringue
* Eton Mess
* Proper Custard
* Homemade Ice Cream
* The Best Shortbread in the World
* Fifteen Chocolate Tart

My favourite main dish (to date), tried & tasted...'delish'!

~ 'Incredible Baked Lamb Shanks'
The lamb is baked in individual foil parcels, each including a 'swig of wine'(!), and served some two and a half hours later.

My favourite pudding - a modern spin on an oldie - '1980s-style Black Forest Swiss Roll'
I have to echo Jamie's note in the recipe heading:...'sponge, black cherries and booze...a match made in heaven'...!
Sprinkled with the recommended chocolate shavings I have to admit to regularly 'going OTT', with the clotted cream, making my completed dish far less delicate than it is meant to be!
BUT...I can justify that it is indeed a super alternative to a heavy Christmas Pud with brandy butter, with Christmas not that far away (at the time of writing).
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 March 2007
This is the seventh book from everyone's favourite mockney celebrity chef, and anyone who owns the likes of The Naked Chef or Jamie's Dinners will know what to expect: Jamie's jovial, conversational-style of writing, a lovely, clear lay-out, tantalising, mouthwatering photographs, and recipes that straddle the great divide between haute cuisine and decent, down-to-earth grub. So, what does this book offer that's new?

Well, firstly, at over 400 pages, Cook With Jamie appears to have been conceived as a more comprehensive cook book than previous efforts, as he covers everything from basic salads all the way through to desserts, even revisiting some of the chapters from earlier books (Making your own pasta, Risotto). Secondly, each section has an introduction of its own, including a list of 'Top tips' and a bullet-point guide to being a better ingredients shopper. Some of it may seem bleedin' obvious but it's great for the newcomer and worth reminding yourself of if you've been out of the game for a while. Finally - and most importantly! - it offers some very inventive and scrumptious-sounding new dishes, of which my favourite are:

'Gorgeous slow-cooked duck pasta'
'Pan-fried scallops with lentils, crispy pancetta and lemon creme fraiche'
'Grilled spatchcocked chicken with new potatoes, roast asparagus and herby yoghurt'

The recipes vary from the ridiculously simple (see: Return of egg salad, Prawn cocktail, Jools' favourite Saturday afternoon pasta) to the rather more time-consuming and complex (anything with crab or lobster...) and there are entire sub-chapters devoted to carrots, peas, broccoli and cauliflower!

Matt Pucci
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2007
I bought this book as my new years resolution was to learn to cook. Who better to turn to than Mr Oliver? To start with, there are absolutely loads of recipes to try out, you could spend a very long time trying to decide what next to cook! Its always good to have variety, and Cook has this in spades. My first recipe attempt went disastrously wrong (sausage fusilli) but whether this was because we broiught the wrong sausages or because its not a great recipe i dont know, but we werent very keen! However, everything else we've cooked from this book has been a success. The meatballs were delicious and nicely spiced, the fish wrapped in bacon was yummy and surprisingly filling, and the home made custard is beyond words. Its so good and so hard to stop eating- calorific but the nicest thing i've eaten in a long while! Every recipe has a mouthwatering picture and there are tons of tips from shopping for meat to how to kill a lobster. If you want to learn to cook then this is a must buy-simple recipes that taste very very good!(apart from the sausage fusilli!)
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2007
Mr Oliver is a rare beast - a British popular chef who is big in France. His books are translated and he even gets on TV. "School Dinners" even spawned an imitator - this in a country where most children sit down to three course lunches in the school canteen.

The book is written with great confidence, as though Oliver has really settled into the rôle of teacher, not just of Chef. Some of the recipes are just brilliant, my favourite being "Mad Moroccan Lamb" but I agree with the comments made already that the cake departement is a little wanting, which is the reason behind the four rather than five stars.

The accompanying photographs to each recipe are generally excellent - there's nothing like having a picture to compare your results against - but the diagrams of which cut comes from where on a cow, sheep, etc really could have been better.

I confess that I find the "wotcher mate!" style of some passages a little irritating. Oliver really no longer has any need to be a cult personality since he most certainly has arrived. A very worthwhile addition to the shelf, however. I imagine that the French market will love it.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)