Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Faces
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2001
A pair of inviting eyes and an almost beckoning finger draw you into this remarkable book. Jane Bown's "Faces: The Creative Process Behind Great Portraits" is a collection of some of her best photographs of famous people.
Photographer extrodinaire, her talent is evident on each page and, when we read the brief descriptions of how each picture was taken, it is even more amazing. Some were taken with only a few minutes of time allocated and in very difficult locations.
The black and white pictures, taken mostly in natural light, reveal subjects relaxed and comfortable. As we look at them, we see more than just a face, but not as voyeurs. There is no unwanted exposure, just intimacy and trust between subject and photographer.
Subjects range from John Lennon and Paul McCartney to Mother Theresa via Richard Burton, Noel Coward and Orson Welles. John Betjeman's laugh is a masterpiece and a pensive Eartha Kitt is moving. There is nothing intrusive, but we can feel a personal empathy with them, thoughtful, contemplative, laughing, dreaming or, sometimes, smiling.
We see familiar people in a different light and learn a little more about them. This is a book that I shall return to frequently, certain to find something new each time.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
If you thought that beautiful portrais can only be made by using fancy strobes, incedent light meters, backgrounds and reflectors, this book will change your mind. Bowen only uses natural light and very little else, yet her portraits are technically perfect, sensitive and soulful. The photographs in the book depict celebrities in black and white and in a manner which provides a glimpse into their true character. The author also provides a little information about the shooting conditions and why the end result works. (However, it is not a how-to instruction book.) A must-read for anyone interested in portrait photography.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2002
In a previous book, The Gentle Eye, the commentary at the back likened Jane Bown's photography with Jane Austen's novels; quintesntiually English, observant, using all but a simple canvas. This book highlights how she has taken penetrating photographs with simple equipment (no meters, flashes, props, backdrops, studio lights, zoom lenses, exotic locations). With her commentary, she draw the reader's attention to the use of natural light, dark and light, hands and framing to give the reader the benefit of decades of picture-taking experience.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2000
This is one of the most inspirational books i have ever seen on portrait photography. from the moment you open it you dont want it to end. The photographer Jane Brown shares her techniques, from f-stops to film and has wonderful tales to tell of all her pictures. The portraits are stunning especially the one of Danny de vito(pg104) and Patricria Arquette(pg-111). A great book to pick up when you need that boost of inspiration.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
Working in black and white with an SLR-camera set to 1/60th at f 2,8 - and without the use of flash - Jane Bown succeeds to catch the core of the personality of her sitters. In this book we can witness the result of her 50 years as a photographer for the Observer. What strikes me is her is the naturalness of her approach - completely free of the dressing up we may find in more commercial portraiture.

Besides being an example to all those practising the art of portrait photography, this is definitely a book for the culturally interested reader of contemporary history. The personalities of many of the persons who have put their stamps on this period are subtly revealed to us by Jane Bown, and the book may thus be a supplement to any historical text and broaden our understanding of our own time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2001
Forget the gimmicks, and don't worry about your equipment. Jane Brown has been taking fantastic portraits for decades using a camera and standard lens. All you need is light, imagination, the ability to get on with people, and pure genius
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2001
Inspirational. Although I must declare that my own photographic preferences mirror Jane's. That's to say, natural light, Kodak Tri-X film so if you're not into black and white photography then buy this book anyway, you'll be converted.
After reading the book, I felt my portraits actually got better...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
I love Jane Bown's work and those faces stare out at you from her book with so much captured in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
Thanks for a great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)