Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2014
What a gem this artist is. I had not been aware of Laura Knight's work until recently but already 'Ruby Loftus Screwing a Breech Ring' has become one of my favourite paintings of all time.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2014
Missed the exhibition so this was the next best thing beautiful works by an artist I knew little about but was aware of her w.w2 work
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An excellent catalogue written to accompany the exhibition of Laura Knight Portraits currently on show at the National Portrait Gallery until 13th October 2013 and subsequently at the Laing and Plymouth galleries.
This catalogue is well written, succinct, with a very good review of the work of Laura Knight, a very useful chronology and excellent plates of the thirty or so pictures that appear in the exhibition. Rosie Broadley, the curator of this small exhibition, has arranged the portraits and the review of the work of Knight into six sections which illustrate some of the many different themes and painting styles taken up by this exceptionally versatile painter. The sections deal with Laura and Harold Knight in Cornwall, Theatre and Ballet paintings, the John Hopkins Hospital portraits done in Baltimore, USA, Circus and Gypsies, World War II pictures and the Nuremberg Trial painting, and finally the society portraits or Patronage of the established artist. The approach taken by Broadley is straightforward, biographical and mercifully free of mock-artistic abstractions.
Laura Knight has been somewhat overlooked until recently when her work has again appeared in exhibitions. It is likely that the book and film of the same name, "Summer in February" will further stimulate interest in the Newlyn group of artists and particularly the Lamorna Cove set of which Knight was a very active participant for a few years just before WWI.
This is a highly readable and excellent catalogue and makes a pleasant change from some of the overblown and completely unwieldy works that have accompanied several recent London exhibitions.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I sent away for this book from Laing Art Gallery last year as I'd been unable to get to their exhibition on her - February 2014 (snow!). I was a PA to a chap who collected her. She did have a fascinating life - see my review on my Profile page of Barbara Morden's Laura Knight. I like pictures like The Green Feather 1911. Also the one of George Bernard Shaw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
A beautiful book full of wonderful pictures and interesting facts about Laura Knight a must have for those who love Laura's work.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
Beautifully illustrated and shows the talent of this otherwise vastly underrated artist.An artist who is better known for her circus and ballet pictures.Includes many pictures not previously seen in exhibitions or books.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
Very well put together book accompanying the Laura Knight exhibition. Outstanding portraits and extremely interesting information on many aspects of Laura Knight and her work. My interest was sparked by the film Summer in February which was all about Laura Knight's era - I therefore attended the exhibition and bought the book as a result. I was not disappointed. Superb.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
This was a birthday gift for a friend who had been to the Laura Knight exhibition where the Book was very expensive to buy.
So we were both delighted, myself with the Amazon price, and her to receive it as a present
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I have always admired Laura Knight and the book gives me many of the paintings I like (although only photographs)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
I bought this for a present and I believe the recipient to be delighted with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)