Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
142
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Illuminatus! Trilogy
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 October 2017
The longest, strangest and most difficult novel I've ever read...yet really enjoyable. Comes with a free speedboat. Intentionally chaotic, the book draws you in with a mixture of facts and fiction (as favoured by the Discordians), covering nearly every conspiracy theory imaginable. I'm sure there's much more fnord going on than I could keep track of, but I learned to embrace the confusion and carry on. Handy 1:1 scale, perfectly sized for human hands.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
I want to like it, but it's just a bit all other the place and I am finding it hard to keep up with the various story lines. I understand people saying they enjoyed re-reading it, because I think you probably have to! Unfortunately I don't have the time to invest in re-reading trilogies, lots of other books on the shelf to get through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2017
Not an easy read but a book full of all sorts of good things and the forerunner of all conspiracy theory fiction. Anything by Robert Anton Wilson is full of references both obvious and obscure, this book is no exception, finding them is half the fun of reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
Mind blowing book truly amazing. The time skipping is so overdone though that it makes the book very hard to read the first time, it is worth it if you stick to it long enough to connect the dots though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Hoping to fathom it all out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Still a classic, despite the outdated sad and outdated attitude towards women. An updated version is desperately needed; complete with MK Ultra mind control, Project Chaos and the CIA's distribution of LSD, cultic abuse, and the employment of the UFO narrative as a distraction / obfuscation technique.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Everything in these books are true, except for the lies, which are also true. Or not.

Fnord!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
A book that can go from being absolutely brilliant to boring and back to brilliant again in the space of one page.With better editing and a slightly more coherent narrative structure this could have been one of the all-time greats. As it stands it seems to be attempting more than it can grasp. The story is at once a detective yarn, a Lovecraftian doomsday scenario, a science fiction adventure, a conspiracy theory, a horror story and a bit of porn for good measure.

I have no doubt in my mind that Robert Anton Wilson was a complete genius and perhaps this book just isn't entirely for me. I read his historical Illuminatus chronicles and absolutely loved them, perhaps because the narrative was more straight-forward and didn't feel like a barely coherent, Americanized Ulysses on bad acid.

There are parts of this book that are hilarious too, I laughed out loud on public transport more than once reading this. There are some sections that are quite horrific and moving too. A great book that could have been brilliant...maybe. I'd recommend reading Prometheus Rising first.

Fans of American 1960's drug culture, Burroughs, Dylan, Hunter S Thompson, Alan Ginsberg, Ken Kesey, HP Lovecraft, Alleister Crowley, philosophy and the occult will all find something to like somewhere in this gargantuan tome. Sort of like Lou Reid's discography, you won't find many people who enjoy it all as a whole.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 1997
The Illuminatus Trilogy bombards your conscious mind with conspiritorial, illuminating, and downright perplexing theories of the Universe in order to break on through to the sub-conscious. Every page causes you to question everything, including what you have just read. If you don't look at Reality in a new light after reading this book, then your just not trying hard enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 1998
Illuminatus! is more than a novel; it's a head trip, a philosophy course, a mirror, a funhouse; a work that should be read at least five times, because every journey through is a different trip. Equal parts mock conspiracy story, detective novel, science fiction epic and hidden treatise, what you get out of it tells you more about yourself than about the authors. On top of all that, it's just plain old damn funny. Keep your eyes open for the parodies of James Joyce, Ayn Rand and Edgar Rice Burroughs, and avoid the fnords at all costs.
Whether you're nostalgic for the 60s or lost in the compassless haze of the 90s, you need to read this book, and get to know the philosophies of its authors. There's more education between these covers than between the start and finish of any university, but it's all achieved painlessly and, by the end, you'll look at the world and yourself in a different way.
Finally, this is one of those rare books that has become less satire and more prediction in the twenty-three years since its publication. What was once cynical wit is now sad documentary, and authors Wilson and Shea have nailed it. Approach with an open mind, abandon all preconceptions ye who enter here -- and then read it again and be surprised all over as you realize it's a different book the second time around. And the third. And the fourth. And the... well, you know...
11 Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse