Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2009
This is a great book. I own three others, probably all from Amazon, and I think Growing Vines to make wines is the best. It deals with the specifics of growing vines in the U.K. and is very clearly written. It is also very detailed. Pros and Cons of each vine are described (grown in England), everything from planting a cutting to maturing a wine, is broken down into small steps with good illustrations and photos.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
This book contains enough detailed advice to be useful, but not enough science to be overwhelming to the amateur. I can't recommend it enough! A great starting point for anyone thinking of growing their own vines in England with specific advice on our climate and what is achieveable. I'm a country wine maker and was glad for the detailed advice of how to take this one step further with grapes.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
This is an excellent book for people who have recently acquired a vineyard and need some serious advice. Easy to read and full of useful advice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
The book is very informative about the whole process of making wine from grapes, however, it is definitely more suited to larger scale production of wine rather than home small wine production. The book contains some very useful information that will help me to understand the process of obtaining good wine, worth buying but I have ordered another book which hopefully will be more suitable for home wine making.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
An excellent book for beginner and experienced grower/vintner. Lots of pictures and diagrams. lots of useful information of the whole process from preparing the ground to choosing and planting the vine, to care and harvesting the crop and making the wine. I would recommend this book to all who want to know how to grow your own wine!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
I gave up on this book half way through - it seems to be geared towards anyone in the UK who want to attempt to grow grapes - mainly on an amateur level. It doesn't have the depth required for Plumpton College or the insight of Dr.Richard Smart etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
good informative and easy to read book for a novice, will help assist in my 1st grape vine in a garden, as not many books on the subject. would have liked more color photos but otherwise found useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
Bought for a relative who does not read much but is very interested in growing vines. It has illustrations in it and all the information needed for someone who wants to grow their own vines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I am a novice at growing vines and the book has greatly helped me get my few vines set up in the right way.
Every few weeks I refer back to the book for advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
Quite informative. I expected deeper expansion, however it could have complicated the subject some the ordinary reader. Tips and hints are easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)