Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2013
I have looked forward to these new collections, a step up from the Commando mini-collections which are not as good given the smaller size and paper used but desirable nonetheless because of the content. However, guess what? All four of the collections issued this August 2013 are mere reprints of the first two Commando collections issued in 2005. Yes! All four books, each containing six stories, are mere reprints of 'The Dirty Dozen' and 'True Brit' collections. The only difference is the whiter paper, fewer pages in each (hence 4 books replacing two) and the paperback finish which means you will have creased spines unlike the good old flexi-civers which were far more preferable. So avoid unless you don't have or can't find the original 'The Dirty Dozen' and 'True Brit' collections at reasonable prices.

What is typical of the modern corporate mentality is the manner in which those cherished flexi-cover collections (which were priced at about £15 each full cover price)are now criticised in the introduction to each of the new books as being too big and too heavy despite being only twice as thick and almost the same weight as the each of the new collections even though they had twice as many stories, better covers and decent paper stock. The cover price is a rip-off unless you buy from Amazon and get the discounted price as otherwise it means that to get the same number of stories as in each of the the previous collections you would need to spend about £20 quid - £5 more.

The Commando war comics are absolutely worth it and I would recommend getting a subscription and if you can find any or all of the old flexi-cover collections, new or used, grab-em! They are really worth it. The recent mini collections which are the lower priced small paperback sized editions cost about 3 or 4 quid on Amazon are also worth it as there are a total of 36 stories in the twelve released so far. This latest collection of 4 are a cash-grab, pure and simple!
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Is a repeat of previous compilation not a new collection of titles. This special collections should not repeat previous special releases should contain new titles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
I completely agree with the views expressed by Twitter-bird. I was much looking forward to these only to find that they were all reprints. Very disappointed as a result
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I ordered all these new titles only to discover when they arrived that they are just reprints of "True Brit and The Dirty Dozen", a complete rip off from both the publishers and Amazon who failed to make it clear when they announced them.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
First off, Commando comics (I really hate using the word "comics" because these are not "comics" they are realistic, dramatic illustrated stories) are wonderful stories for boys. They always have a moral (good morals, not some type of subjectively relativistic "morals" that change with whomever's personal justifications for their deviant actions/behaviours) and a life lesson to them. The protagonist overcomes obstacles and grows as a character.

It is hard for me to give this one measly star. I love Commando books. I am a teacher and I strongly believe these are excellent books for boys to read and relate a lot of history, social responsibility, honour and morals. Every classroom, from middle grades up, should have these books in them to help facilitate reading and comprehension of history, not to mention teaching the "hidden curriculum" of social skills, discipline and honour - all of which are severely lacking in society and the results of which are clearly seen.

However, and this is an HUGE however, this book, as are the three sister publications that have been released at the same time, are nothing more than mere reprints of the stories in the previously released 12 book compilations entitled, 'The Dirty Dozen' and 'True Brit'. If you have those books already, stay away from these. There is not a thing new here.

To be fair, the pictures are printed oversized from original that really helps show the great artwork. The stories are good.

HOWEVER, the cover claims these are Navy stories, yet only a few of them feature the navy at all! Talk about deceit, and I will return to this fact.

Why Calum Laird would have reprinted the previous ones in this format, is beyond me - unless there was an intentional deception at work here to get people to buy these who had probably bought the previous ones. The previous titles these are merely copied from cost 15 Pounds. These are half the number of stories, with a soft cover, merely glued pages (the original ones are sewn and included a bookmark cloth strip) and are priced at 10 Pounds. The introduction to them almost tries to convince the buyer that this is such a better deal to get these books in sets of six, not twelve, because the previous volumes were apparently too large and too heavy. Yet, placing two of these beside one of the others, they are same size. As to the weight, the original volumes are of a better quality paper that is much lighter, per page, than these so the weight of one of these new ones is almost the same as the 12 story original editions. You can fool some of the people some of the time ...

I am pretty angry over what the company has done to make these. It also makes me not want to buy any new books from them. This says a lot, as I literally have thousands of the original small pocket-sized books. If I have that many, surely they could have easily reprinted 6 different stories. Honestly, how hard would that have been? Shame on you, Carlton/Prion, Commando and Calum Laird.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
Just contains stories previously published in 'true Brit' and 'the dirty dozen'. Sent back in disgust. With all the stories available why would they do that ?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Whilst appreciating the publication of what I thought was more of this wonderful series, I was terribly disappointed to find that this was merely a rehash of previously published material. I felt cheated to discover that all 4 books contained stories that had already been featured in "The Dirty Dozen" and "True Brit" anthologies.
There are thousands of Commando stories to choose from and surely the publishers could have used some of these rather than foisting this on an unsuspecting public. I don't remember seeing any mention of them being re-issues.

I don't feel that this book and its companion volumes can be recommended at all. If you alread have "The Dirty Dozen" and "True Brit" then don't bother with these.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
love these books and w2ait with bated breath for the release of any new ones but imagine my disgust t6o find that they are only repeats of repeats that have only recently been reprinted. You would think that after thousands of stories in the comics were printed they could find some new ones. Very disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I have missed reading these stories I might have to buy more of these books to start a collection just have watch the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
I found this one to be just as good as the rest of my commando's just awesome and the action was just as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse