Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2016
I did not have knowledge of what this book would contain and was a little disappointed that it covered more of Hanna`s early Glider life than her wartime exploits
However, it did give me some additional insights into the Nazi Regime and her description of Hitler`s Bunker was extremely descriptive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
I'm a glider pilot so it particularly interested me and I love reading accounts of early flying especially gliding and women's intrepid exploits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2010
The point of the comparison is both had monumental talent, egotism and selective memory. However Rieefenstahl has been monumentally dissected by critics over the years, but Reitsch hasn't. There is only one good biography of her I am aware of, but it is priced at over £50 a copy.
The copy of her book I have is in English and the translation does her justice. The story flows well with no flagging and covers many facts, such as piloting V1 rocket planes about which most people have little or no knowledge. Her unrepentant Nazism post-war obviously made her a bit of a leper and restricted her life, although she was released without charge after detention by the Allies.
In many ways it is tally ho tale of daring do and rattles along nicely. Pity about the selective memory, though.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
This is a good read, well written, but leaves the reader wanting more. There are many big jumps in time, a tendency to focus in individual events and a glossing over of history; all of which is obviously a pity but one is still left with a true insight into a very determined and pioneering lady.

There are some references to historical context but surprisingly few given the scale of the upheavals caused by the German re-emergence in the 1930s. Some reviewers criticise Ms Reitsch for being economical with the truth, namely her alleged admiration for Hitler and love of the Nazi Party but there is no evidence, here or elsewhere, of such feels in fact.

After reading several books about Ms Reitsch I have gained the impression that she was simply a patriotic team player (for Germany) who was attracted to big people (Hitler et al). There is, for example, no evidence that she either joined the Nazi party or participated in any Nazi sponsored events, and expressing admiration for some Nazi successes after the war hardly makes her a Nazi supporter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2012
I found this book very readable and found it a very charming and quaint book. The author doesn't exaggerate the facts, just tells it as it is.Although a Nazi,and having dealings with Hitler and Himmler, she seems very patriotic but completely disconnected with was going on in the war and just wants to fly all types of aircraft. If you read the book together with her interviews on Youtube you will get an idea of her personality.I especially enjoyed her exploits flying the v1 rocket and her explanation of it's intended use.It was interesting to note how when she was testing the handling of the v1, the rocket was released from a plane and not from a ground ramp with a catapult as you would have pulled 17 G's and blacked out!
I'm surprised the book omitted a photograph of Hanna receiving the Iron Cross from Hitler.There is a photo from Wilkipedia showing Hanna being awarded the Iron Cross from Hitler and congatulating her on her flying with Goring smiling in the background.She mentions in her book her meeting with Hitler and this photogragh would have helped illustrate the point.
I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in aircraft and flying.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
I had to give this book five stars simply it is an autobiography by a fascinating person. It is easy to read with lots of interesting imformation although it is a pity she did not write more about her wartime testing. She seems such a nice person whereas Eric Brown interviewed her and said she was a dedicated nazi!
So this is a unique perspective about an interesting enigmatic woman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
Although I enjoyed reading the account of the life of this lady, I was hoping to learn more about the actual wartime test flying. I would recommend the story to those readers who are interested in learning about German glider and light aircraft flying before 1939.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
Hanna Reitsch was a staunch supporter of the Nazi party. I thought she would be political but this book, which is in her own words, keeps away from the political issues of her country and concentrates solo on her remarkable flying career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
A fascinating insight into a female pilots life under the Nazis. A little vague in places, but enjoyable read if interested in that period of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
An easy if not somewhat simplistic read with some interesting facts. Would have liked some more detailed history of her later life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)