Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
761
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2014
So far. Not impressed! The formatting is all over the place with odd pages scattered around with bits of disembodied text. Worst thing. American spelling....Gray not Grey. Conan Doyle didn't write it that way. These scriptors should always respect the way it was written down. I can (just) forgive in the case of free collections but no excuse here. Sherlock would have been very sniffy about it. Not worth paying for.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
I do not want to repeat what the many other reviewers say, so I'll just give you my brief opinion.

Firstly, this edition: It's very large and heavy and the text is quite small, so not ideal for bedtime reading. But it does have the complete Holmes, so hurrah!

Secondly, Holmes: Many of the Sherlock Holmes stories are exceptional. You should never just skim read them, but absorb them. Absorb the evidence you are given and in the better stories you could deduce what Holmes deduces and you'll kick yourself when he solves it!

On the other hand, there are a few run of the mill stories that simply tell a tale, rather than get you involved with the crime. These stories I do not like as much - although they are still a good read.

Should you buy this book? Sure, do it. It is large, but everyone likes different Holmes stories and it's great to dip into when you fancy nothing else. And it is outstanding value.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
I delayed getting a Kindle until I felt I could be confident about the quality of the ebooks available. I have just downloaded this, my second book, and only read one of the short stories so far. Already I am disappointed in the quality, as several pages were filled with 'wrong' new lines, especially during speech exchanges. Often there was only one word on a line, a couple on the next and the rest (i.e. of the same sentence) continued on yet another. This may sound like a minor quibble, but it's actually very irritating and does not make for a good reading experience. I wouldn't find this sort of problem in a printed book. I hope I am not going to find it throughout the Kindle elibrary? Kindle, please edit this one & get a corrected version onto your website.
33 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2000
Sherlock Holmes virtually invented forensic science. I have read almost all his short stories (I have around four left to read) and they are all original and interesting. When you read these stories you also get a sense of what people and life was like in turn of the century England through the diversity of characters that Doyle portrays in his stories. Although there is sometimes the faint scent of prejiduice in his stories (especially towards black people) he shows open mindedness in the story entitled the "adventure of the yellow face".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
The Complete Sherlock Holmes: All 4 Novels and 56 Short Stories. (Illustrated) [Kindle Edition] - current price 2 pounds.

This is the version Sherlock Holmes enthusiasts will want. Unlike the majority of the other books this has:

The original Strand Magazine illustrations.
All the books/stories including the usually missing Casebook of Sherlock Holmes.
The illustrations are in the correct place within each story, so unlike other books where people complained all illustrations were at the title page, these aren't.

It does have downsides.

The first novels which in the Strand had no illustrations have had new ones added, they detract from the books in my opinion because they're just not as good as Sydney Paget and the rest of the Holmes illustrators.

The illustrations I think have had their brightness adjusted in some cases, I feel they're a bit brighter than they should be, but perhaps its just my Strand Magazine illustrations are darker than they should be and the book is the correct one.

Also so far several images have their caption text on the next page, a minor annoyance but would have been better to have the illustrations include the original text as part of the picture like the Free Kindle Sherlock Holmes books 1/2 have.

Also a very minor thing, one title has been renamed from the original story of Squire to Puzzle.

In reply to some other reviews, some have complained about Americanisms, such as brandy being replaced with whisky and soda. Though I have not read all this book, on discovering a whisky and soda reference I checked it against my own copies of the Strand Magazine that Wordsworth Classics published direct from magazine to book and its whisky and soda in it as well so I think this book is a faithful reproduction.

All in all for two pounds this is the best version I've managed to find in the Kindle editions.

The reason I give the exact title in the review is the way the review system seems to work means other Sherlock Holmes books will display this review and so I want to make it certain as to which one I'm actually talking about - there are complaints by other reviewers about this review grouping that Amazon does.

I hope this review was useful to anyone looking for a faithful reproduction of the original Strand Magazine illustrated stories and books.

Update 2013 - as the books progress we start losing our U's so it is American. Oddly enough dishonour keeps its U until the last book or so. Also there are words such as 'the' which in the book are 'me' etc. Some words have unknown characters in them so you can't work out what they are. And finally, I think there's a whole sentence missing in one story. Overall a bit bad, probably worth the L2 (£ sign shown as an L in the book) so still worth it, unless a better version comes out. Would love a strand magazine released ebook but until one exists I predict this as still being the nearest Holmes fans are likely to get.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
The book was delivered on time, but that is the only positive. This book is a very chunky A4 book that is probably more suited to students rather than casual readers. Don't be fooled by the 'Illustrated' claim, the pictures are grainy and out-of-focus and absolutely nothing to the story at all. The book has no page numbers. How are you meant to skip to a story you would like to read?! Also, the worst thing is some of the illustrations are a blank box with a PC error message! I assume images were downloaded from the internet...but failed. The text size is so small that it's impossible to read it without holding the heavy book up close. I read the first few sentences of the book and realised this book is an insult. Don't buy it. It's elementary, my dear Amazon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
A near flawless collection of Holmes short stories and novels, the only detraction being that some of them have not aged well. Therefore the awful racism and elitist attitudes of the author's time and views does come through. However, a solid and enjoyable read on the whole.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I feel sad about leaving a bad review for this, because the Sherlock Holmes stories are obviously wonderful, and I would urge anyone who has not read them before to get a copy... just not this copy!
This is my second attempt at buying a S.H collection for Kindle; the first one I bought had no illustrations or graphics at all (some of the graphics are relevant to the plot). This version does at least have the illustrations and graphics, but all spelling is in American English, and some 'period' words such as 'girt' that have obviously fallen out of usage have been substituted for the word with the closest spelling such as 'gift' which means that there are many sentences that make no sense whatsoever until you do a little detective work of your own and work out which words have been changed. Any French words with accented letters have been substituted for Russian cyrillic characters; again making no sense. Does no one actually check these things before they are offered for sale? Come on Amazon, it's elementary!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
The entre Holmes canon for a mere 77p is certainly a bargain but this Kinle edition has been poorly transcribed/proofread. There are several formatting errors throughout, the most annoying of which is the lack of a space around the dash used when the narrator or speaker makes an interjection in his/her exposition. Although this has very little effect on readability it creates odd compound words (e.g. 'strode-in' and 'manner-towards' in "he strode-in a peculiar, halting manner-towards the table") which the Kindle searches for in the dictionary as one word. This means that if one wants to look up one of the words adjacent to the dash in the dictionary it will not come up, the dictionary searching the compound word instead. Add to that the frequent typos which irritate more than anything else and it means that it's probably worth paying a wee bit more for a reputable edition.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I first read the Sherlock Holmes stories as a child, and even 60 years on I re-read them with pleasure. It's good to have the complete collection again, together with additional editorial comments and background. The Kindle edition is not free from places where the original text has been scrambled - e.g. at location 21439, 'too' has come out as 'two' - but these are not enough to spoil one's enjoyment. What did pull me up short was a complete howler at location 21437, where the Editor's Notes refer to 'The Adventure of the Mazarin Bridge', thus confusing two completely different stories, 'The Adventure of the Mazarin Stone' and 'The Problem of Thor Bridge'. Either they were unfamiliar with the Holmesian canon, which would surely disqualify someone from editing it, or their mind just wasn't on the job. And where was the proof reader, to let this one go through?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse